Ellis County Marriage Licenses

List of Ellis County Marriage Licenses

Search for Ellis County, TX marriage license rules and requirements. You can learn how to get a marriage license, a marriage certificate, or marriage records from your local Marriage License Office, Clerk, Health Department, or Town or City Hall.

Ellis County Marriage License 109 South Jackson Street Waxahachie TX 75165 972-825-5070

El Paso County Clerk PO Box 250 Waxahachie TX 75168 830-683-2235

Ellis County Clerk 1201 Dallas Highway Waxahachie TX 75165 972-825-5091

Ferris City Hall 100 Town Plaza Ferris TX 75125 972-544-2110

Italy City Hall 101 West Main Street Italy TX 76651 972-483-7329

Maypearl City Hall 104 2nd Street Maypearl TX 76064 972-435-2380

Midlothian City Hall 104 W Avenue E Midlothian TX 76065 972-775-3481

Milford City Hall 100 North Main Street Milford TX 76670 972-493-3161

Palmer City Hall 113 West Jefferson Street Palmer TX 75152 972-449-3160

Red Oak City Hall 547 Methodist Street Red Oak TX 75154 972-617-3638

Waxahachie City Hall 401 South Rogers Street Waxahachie TX 75165 972-937-7330

Waxahachie Health Department 121 Westgate Drive Waxahachie TX 75165 972-937-8216

About Marriage Licenses



Marriage License Application Requirements and Process:

1. Apply where: County Clerk's Office

2. Minimum Age: 18, or 16 with parental consent and under 16 with court order

3. Cost/fees: $60-$81; varies by county

4. Identification: driver's license, state-issued identification, passport, or military identification

5. Blood test / Physical Test: No

6. Residency Requirement: No

7. Witnesses: No

8. License Valid: 90 days

9. Waiting Period: 3 days

10. Same-sex marriage: Yes

11. Marriage between cousins: No

12. Divorce/Widow: 30 days for divorce

13. Proxy Marriage: Yes

14. Common Law Marriage: Yes

Questions/Answers about Ellis County Marriage Licenses

What do you have to do to get married?

To get married in Texas, both members of the couple must visit a County Clerk's Office in person to fill out a marriage license application. In some counties, you can complete the paperwork online in advance. Active-duty military stationed abroad can submit an Absentee Affidavit if they are unable to apply for the marriage license in person. You will have to meet certain requirements, provide photo identification, and pay a fee. Once you have received the marriage license, you must perform a marriage ceremony while the license is still valid. Your officiant will complete the license and submit it to the County Clerk's Office to be recorded. Once the license is recorded, you will receive a certified marriage certificate.

How do I get a marriage license in Ellis County, Texas?

You will need to visit the County Clerk's Office to apply for a marriage license. Some counties provide online application forms which you can complete in advance. Both members of the couple must show proof of age, provide valid photo identification, and pay a fee.

How much does it cost to get a marriage license in Texas?

The state-wide fee for a marriage license in Texas is $60. Some counties charge additional fees up to $21. The state fee may be waived if the couple completes a qualifying premarital education class.

How old do you have to be to get married in Ellis County?

In Texas, individuals who are 18 years of age or older may get married. Individuals under the age of 18 can get married with parental consent and/or a court order, depending on their age.