Taylor County Marriage Licenses

List of Taylor County Marriage Licenses

Search for Taylor County, TX marriage license rules and requirements. You can learn how to get a marriage license, a marriage certificate, or marriage records from your local Marriage License Office, Clerk, Health Department, or Town or City Hall.

Taylor County Marriage License 300 Oak Street Abilene TX 79602 325-674-1202

Abilene City Hall 555 Walnut Street Abilene TX 79601 325-676-6200

Abilene Clerk 341 Pine Street Abilene TX 79601 325-677-6311

Abilene Health Department 1857 Pine Street Abilene TX 79601 325-677-9622

Buffalo Gap City Hall 709 Litel Street Buffalo Gap TX 79508 325-572-3347

Lawn City Hall 150 Main Street Lawn TX 79530 325-583-2510

Merkel City Hall 100 Kent Street Merkel TX 79536 325-928-4911

Taylor County Clerk 300 Oak Street Abilene TX 79602 325-674-1205

Taylor County Health Department 850 North 6th Street Abilene TX 79601 325-692-5600

Tuscola City Hall 418 Graham Street Tuscola TX 79562 325-554-7766

Tye City Hall 205 North Street Tye TX 79563 325-692-8588

About Marriage Licenses



Marriage License Application Requirements and Process:

1. Apply where: County Clerk's Office

2. Minimum Age: 18, or 16 with parental consent and under 16 with court order

3. Cost/fees: $60-$81; varies by county

4. Identification: driver's license, state-issued identification, passport, or military identification

5. Blood test / Physical Test: No

6. Residency Requirement: No

7. Witnesses: No

8. License Valid: 90 days

9. Waiting Period: 3 days

10. Same-sex marriage: Yes

11. Marriage between cousins: No

12. Divorce/Widow: 30 days for divorce

13. Proxy Marriage: Yes

14. Common Law Marriage: Yes

Questions/Answers about Taylor County Marriage Licenses

What do you have to do to get married?

To get married in Texas, both members of the couple must visit a County Clerk's Office in person to fill out a marriage license application. In some counties, you can complete the paperwork online in advance. Active-duty military stationed abroad can submit an Absentee Affidavit if they are unable to apply for the marriage license in person. You will have to meet certain requirements, provide photo identification, and pay a fee. Once you have received the marriage license, you must perform a marriage ceremony while the license is still valid. Your officiant will complete the license and submit it to the County Clerk's Office to be recorded. Once the license is recorded, you will receive a certified marriage certificate.

How do I get a marriage license in Taylor County, Texas?

You will need to visit the County Clerk's Office to apply for a marriage license. Some counties provide online application forms which you can complete in advance. Both members of the couple must show proof of age, provide valid photo identification, and pay a fee.

How much does it cost to get a marriage license in Texas?

The state-wide fee for a marriage license in Texas is $60. Some counties charge additional fees up to $21. The state fee may be waived if the couple completes a qualifying premarital education class.

How old do you have to be to get married in Taylor County?

In Texas, individuals who are 18 years of age or older may get married. Individuals under the age of 18 can get married with parental consent and/or a court order, depending on their age.