Search for Montgomery County, TX marriage license rules and requirements. You can learn how to get a marriage license, a marriage certificate, or marriage records from your local Marriage License Office, Clerk, Health Department, or Town or City Hall.
Montgomery County Marriage License 210 West Davis Street Conroe TX 77301 936-539-7885
Conroe City Hall 27424 Robinson Road Conroe TX 77385 281-292-4648
Cut & Shoot Town Hall 14391 Highway 105 E Conroe TX 77306 936-264-3100
Magnolia City Hall 16835 Farm to Market Road 1488 Magnolia TX 77354 281-356-2266
Montgomery City Clerk 101 Old Plantersville Road Montgomery TX 77316 936-597-6434
Montgomery City Hall 101 Old Plantersville Road Montgomery TX 77316 936-597-6434
Montgomery County Clerk 210 West Davis Street Conroe TX 77301 936-760-6941
Panorama Village City Hall 99 Hiwon Drive Panorama Village TX 77304 936-856-2821
Splendora City Hall 16940 Main Street Splendora TX 77372 281-689-9511
1. Apply where: County Clerk's Office
2. Minimum Age: 18, or 16 with parental consent and under 16 with court order
3. Cost/fees: $60-$81; varies by county
4. Identification: driver's license, state-issued identification, passport, or military identification
5. Blood test / Physical Test: No
6. Residency Requirement: No
7. Witnesses: No
8. License Valid: 90 days
9. Waiting Period: 3 days
10. Same-sex marriage: Yes
11. Marriage between cousins: No
12. Divorce/Widow: 30 days for divorce
13. Proxy Marriage: Yes
14. Common Law Marriage: Yes
What do you have to do to get married?
To get married in Texas, both members of the couple must visit a County Clerk's Office in person to fill out a marriage license application. In some counties, you can complete the paperwork online in advance. Active-duty military stationed abroad can submit an Absentee Affidavit if they are unable to apply for the marriage license in person. You will have to meet certain requirements, provide photo identification, and pay a fee. Once you have received the marriage license, you must perform a marriage ceremony while the license is still valid. Your officiant will complete the license and submit it to the County Clerk's Office to be recorded. Once the license is recorded, you will receive a certified marriage certificate.
How do I get a marriage license in Montgomery County, Texas?
You will need to visit the County Clerk's Office to apply for a marriage license. Some counties provide online application forms which you can complete in advance. Both members of the couple must show proof of age, provide valid photo identification, and pay a fee.
How much does it cost to get a marriage license in Texas?
The state-wide fee for a marriage license in Texas is $60. Some counties charge additional fees up to $21. The state fee may be waived if the couple completes a qualifying premarital education class.
How old do you have to be to get married in Montgomery County?
In Texas, individuals who are 18 years of age or older may get married. Individuals under the age of 18 can get married with parental consent and/or a court order, depending on their age.