Bowie County Marriage Licenses

List of Bowie County Marriage Licenses

Search for Bowie County, TX marriage license rules and requirements. You can learn how to get a marriage license, a marriage certificate, or marriage records from your local Marriage License Office, Clerk, Health Department, or Town or City Hall.

Bowie County Marriage License 1000 James Bowie Drive New Boston TX 75570 903-628-6744

Bowie County Clerk 710 James Bowie Drive New Boston TX 75570 903-628-6740

De Kalb City Hall 110 East Grizzly Drive De Kalb TX 75559 903-667-2410

Hooks City Hall 603 Avenue East Hooks TX 75561 903-547-2261

Maud City Hall 135 Main Street Maud TX 75567 903-585-2294

Nash City Hall 119 Elm St Nash TX 75569 903-838-0751

New Boston City Hall 301 Northeast Front Street New Boston TX 75570 903-628-5596

Texarkana Health Department 902 West 12th Street Texarkana TX 75501 903-798-3263

Texarkana Health Department 410 Baylor Street Texarkana TX 75501 903-838-2629

About Marriage Licenses

Marriage License Application Requirements and Process:

1. Apply where: County Clerk's Office

2. Minimum Age: 18, or 16 with parental consent and under 16 with court order

3. Cost/fees: $60-$81; varies by county

4. Identification: driver's license, state-issued identification, passport, or military identification

5. Blood test / Physical Test: No

6. Residency Requirement: No

7. Witnesses: No

8. License Valid: 90 days

9. Waiting Period: 3 days

10. Same-sex marriage: Yes

11. Marriage between cousins: No

12. Divorce/Widow: 30 days for divorce

13. Proxy Marriage: Yes

14. Common Law Marriage: Yes

Questions/Answers about Bowie County Marriage Licenses

What do you have to do to get married?

To get married in Texas, both members of the couple must visit a County Clerk's Office in person to fill out a marriage license application. In some counties, you can complete the paperwork online in advance. Active-duty military stationed abroad can submit an Absentee Affidavit if they are unable to apply for the marriage license in person. You will have to meet certain requirements, provide photo identification, and pay a fee. Once you have received the marriage license, you must perform a marriage ceremony while the license is still valid. Your officiant will complete the license and submit it to the County Clerk's Office to be recorded. Once the license is recorded, you will receive a certified marriage certificate.

How do I get a marriage license in Bowie County, Texas?

You will need to visit the County Clerk's Office to apply for a marriage license. Some counties provide online application forms which you can complete in advance. Both members of the couple must show proof of age, provide valid photo identification, and pay a fee.

How much does it cost to get a marriage license in Texas?

The state-wide fee for a marriage license in Texas is $60. Some counties charge additional fees up to $21. The state fee may be waived if the couple completes a qualifying premarital education class.

How old do you have to be to get married in Bowie County?

In Texas, individuals who are 18 years of age or older may get married. Individuals under the age of 18 can get married with parental consent and/or a court order, depending on their age.