Search for Fort Bend County, TX marriage license rules and requirements. You can learn how to get a marriage license, a marriage certificate, or marriage records from your local Marriage License Office, Clerk, Health Department, or Town or City Hall.
Fort Bend County Marriage License 301 Jackson Street Richmond TX 77469 281-341-8685
Beasley City Hall 319 South 3rd Street Richmond TX 77469 979-387-2775
Fort Bend County Clerk 301 Jackson Street Richmond TX 77469 281-341-8685
Fort Bend County Health Department 3409 Avenue F Rosenberg TX 77471 281-342-7469
Fulshear City Hall 30603 Farm to Market 1093 Road Fulshear TX 77441 281-346-1796
Kendleton City Hall 430 Farm to Market Road 2919 Beasley TX 77417 979-532-8240
Missouri City Hall 1522 Texas Parkway Missouri TX 77489 281-261-4260
Needville City Hall 9022 Main Street Needville TX 77461 979-793-4253
Orchard City Hall 9714 KIBLER St Orchard TX 77464 979-478-6893
Richmond City Hall 402 Morton Street Richmond TX 77469 281-342-5456
Stafford City Hall 2610 Main Street Stafford TX 77477 281-261-3900
Sugar Land City Hall 2700 Town Center Boulevard North Sugar Land TX 77479 281-275-2700
1. Apply where: County Clerk's Office
2. Minimum Age: 18, or 16 with parental consent and under 16 with court order
3. Cost/fees: $60-$81; varies by county
4. Identification: driver's license, state-issued identification, passport, or military identification
5. Blood test / Physical Test: No
6. Residency Requirement: No
7. Witnesses: No
8. License Valid: 90 days
9. Waiting Period: 3 days
10. Same-sex marriage: Yes
11. Marriage between cousins: No
12. Divorce/Widow: 30 days for divorce
13. Proxy Marriage: Yes
14. Common Law Marriage: Yes
What do you have to do to get married?
To get married in Texas, both members of the couple must visit a County Clerk's Office in person to fill out a marriage license application. In some counties, you can complete the paperwork online in advance. Active-duty military stationed abroad can submit an Absentee Affidavit if they are unable to apply for the marriage license in person. You will have to meet certain requirements, provide photo identification, and pay a fee. Once you have received the marriage license, you must perform a marriage ceremony while the license is still valid. Your officiant will complete the license and submit it to the County Clerk's Office to be recorded. Once the license is recorded, you will receive a certified marriage certificate.
How do I get a marriage license in Fort Bend County, Texas?
You will need to visit the County Clerk's Office to apply for a marriage license. Some counties provide online application forms which you can complete in advance. Both members of the couple must show proof of age, provide valid photo identification, and pay a fee.
How much does it cost to get a marriage license in Texas?
The state-wide fee for a marriage license in Texas is $60. Some counties charge additional fees up to $21. The state fee may be waived if the couple completes a qualifying premarital education class.
How old do you have to be to get married in Fort Bend County?
In Texas, individuals who are 18 years of age or older may get married. Individuals under the age of 18 can get married with parental consent and/or a court order, depending on their age.