Search for Anderson County, TX marriage license rules and requirements. You can learn how to get a marriage license, a marriage certificate, or marriage records from your local Marriage License Office, Clerk, Health Department, or Town or City Hall.
Anderson County Marriage License 500 North Church Street Palestine TX 75801 903-723-7402
Anderson County Clerk 500 North Church Street Palestine TX 75801 903-723-7430
Anderson County Health Department 100 West Brazos Street Palestine TX 75801 903-729-1116
Elkhart City Hall 110 West Parker Street Elkhart TX 75839 903-764-5657
Frankston City Hall 200 West Main Street Frankston TX 75763 903-876-2241
Palestine City Hall 504 North Queen Street Palestine TX 75801 903-731-8400
1. Apply where: County Clerk's Office
2. Minimum Age: 18, or 16 with parental consent and under 16 with court order
3. Cost/fees: $60-$81; varies by county
4. Identification: driver's license, state-issued identification, passport, or military identification
5. Blood test / Physical Test: No
6. Residency Requirement: No
7. Witnesses: No
8. License Valid: 90 days
9. Waiting Period: 3 days
10. Same-sex marriage: Yes
11. Marriage between cousins: No
12. Divorce/Widow: 30 days for divorce
13. Proxy Marriage: Yes
14. Common Law Marriage: Yes
What do you have to do to get married?
To get married in Texas, both members of the couple must visit a County Clerk's Office in person to fill out a marriage license application. In some counties, you can complete the paperwork online in advance. Active-duty military stationed abroad can submit an Absentee Affidavit if they are unable to apply for the marriage license in person. You will have to meet certain requirements, provide photo identification, and pay a fee. Once you have received the marriage license, you must perform a marriage ceremony while the license is still valid. Your officiant will complete the license and submit it to the County Clerk's Office to be recorded. Once the license is recorded, you will receive a certified marriage certificate.
How do I get a marriage license in Anderson County, Texas?
You will need to visit the County Clerk's Office to apply for a marriage license. Some counties provide online application forms which you can complete in advance. Both members of the couple must show proof of age, provide valid photo identification, and pay a fee.
How much does it cost to get a marriage license in Texas?
The state-wide fee for a marriage license in Texas is $60. Some counties charge additional fees up to $21. The state fee may be waived if the couple completes a qualifying premarital education class.
How old do you have to be to get married in Anderson County?
In Texas, individuals who are 18 years of age or older may get married. Individuals under the age of 18 can get married with parental consent and/or a court order, depending on their age.