Wise County Marriage Licenses

List of Wise County Marriage Licenses

Search for Wise County, TX marriage license rules and requirements. You can learn how to get a marriage license, a marriage certificate, or marriage records from your local Marriage License Office, Clerk, Health Department, or Town or City Hall.

Wise County Marriage License 200 N. Trinity, Records Bldg Decatur TX 76234 940-627-3351

Alvord City Hall 215 West Elm Street Alvord TX 76225 940-427-2105

Boyd City Hall 100 East Rock Island Avenue Boyd TX 76023 940-433-5166

Bridgeport City Hall 900 Thompson Street Bridgeport TX 76426 940-683-3400

Chico City Hall 400 South Hovey Street Chico TX 76431 940-644-2435

Decatur City Hall 201 E Walnut St Decatur TX 76234 940-627-2741

Newark City Hall 310 Farm to Market Road 718 Newark TX 76071 817-489-2201

Rhome City Hall 105 East 1st Street Rhome TX 76078 817-636-2462

Wise County Clerk PO Box 359 Decatur TX 76234 940-627-3351

About Marriage Licenses



Marriage License Application Requirements and Process:

1. Apply where: County Clerk's Office

2. Minimum Age: 18, or 16 with parental consent and under 16 with court order

3. Cost/fees: $60-$81; varies by county

4. Identification: driver's license, state-issued identification, passport, or military identification

5. Blood test / Physical Test: No

6. Residency Requirement: No

7. Witnesses: No

8. License Valid: 90 days

9. Waiting Period: 3 days

10. Same-sex marriage: Yes

11. Marriage between cousins: No

12. Divorce/Widow: 30 days for divorce

13. Proxy Marriage: Yes

14. Common Law Marriage: Yes

Questions/Answers about Wise County Marriage Licenses

What do you have to do to get married?

To get married in Texas, both members of the couple must visit a County Clerk's Office in person to fill out a marriage license application. In some counties, you can complete the paperwork online in advance. Active-duty military stationed abroad can submit an Absentee Affidavit if they are unable to apply for the marriage license in person. You will have to meet certain requirements, provide photo identification, and pay a fee. Once you have received the marriage license, you must perform a marriage ceremony while the license is still valid. Your officiant will complete the license and submit it to the County Clerk's Office to be recorded. Once the license is recorded, you will receive a certified marriage certificate.

How do I get a marriage license in Wise County, Texas?

You will need to visit the County Clerk's Office to apply for a marriage license. Some counties provide online application forms which you can complete in advance. Both members of the couple must show proof of age, provide valid photo identification, and pay a fee.

How much does it cost to get a marriage license in Texas?

The state-wide fee for a marriage license in Texas is $60. Some counties charge additional fees up to $21. The state fee may be waived if the couple completes a qualifying premarital education class.

How old do you have to be to get married in Wise County?

In Texas, individuals who are 18 years of age or older may get married. Individuals under the age of 18 can get married with parental consent and/or a court order, depending on their age.