Search for Grayson County, TX marriage license rules and requirements. You can learn how to get a marriage license, a marriage certificate, or marriage records from your local Marriage License Office, Clerk, Health Department, or Town or City Hall.
Grayson County Marriage License 100 West Houston Street Sherman TX 75090 903-813-4243
Sherman County Marriage License 100 West Houston Street Sherman TX 75090 903-813-4236
Bells City Hall 203 South Broadway Street Bells TX 75414 903-965-7744
Denison City Hall 500 West Chestnut Street Denison TX 75020 903-465-2720
Grayson County Clerk 100 West Houston Street Sherman TX 75090 903-813-4235
Grayson County Health Department 515 North Walnut Street Sherman TX 75090 903-893-0131
Grayson County Health Department 205 North Houston Avenue Denison TX 75021 903-465-2878
Gunter City Hall 508 West Main Street Gunter TX 75058 903-433-5185
Howe City Hall 116 West Haning Street Howe TX 75459 903-532-5571
Pottsboro City Hall 528 Farm to Market 120 Pottsboro TX 75076 903-786-2281
Southmayd City Hall 4525 Elementary Dr Southmayd TX 76268 903-868-9420
Tioga City Hall 600 North Main Street Collinsville TX 76233 940-437-2351
Van Alstyne City Hall 242 East Jefferson Street Van Alstyne TX 75495 903-482-5426
Van Alstyne Clerk 242 East Jefferson Street Van Alstyne TX 75495 903-482-5426
Whitesboro City Hall 111 West Main Street Whitesboro TX 76273 903-564-3311
Whitewright City Hall 206 West Grand Street Whitewright TX 75491 903-364-2219
1. Apply where: County Clerk's Office
2. Minimum Age: 18, or 16 with parental consent and under 16 with court order
3. Cost/fees: $60-$81; varies by county
4. Identification: driver's license, state-issued identification, passport, or military identification
5. Blood test / Physical Test: No
6. Residency Requirement: No
7. Witnesses: No
8. License Valid: 90 days
9. Waiting Period: 3 days
10. Same-sex marriage: Yes
11. Marriage between cousins: No
12. Divorce/Widow: 30 days for divorce
13. Proxy Marriage: Yes
14. Common Law Marriage: Yes
What do you have to do to get married?
To get married in Texas, both members of the couple must visit a County Clerk's Office in person to fill out a marriage license application. In some counties, you can complete the paperwork online in advance. Active-duty military stationed abroad can submit an Absentee Affidavit if they are unable to apply for the marriage license in person. You will have to meet certain requirements, provide photo identification, and pay a fee. Once you have received the marriage license, you must perform a marriage ceremony while the license is still valid. Your officiant will complete the license and submit it to the County Clerk's Office to be recorded. Once the license is recorded, you will receive a certified marriage certificate.
How do I get a marriage license in Grayson County, Texas?
You will need to visit the County Clerk's Office to apply for a marriage license. Some counties provide online application forms which you can complete in advance. Both members of the couple must show proof of age, provide valid photo identification, and pay a fee.
How much does it cost to get a marriage license in Texas?
The state-wide fee for a marriage license in Texas is $60. Some counties charge additional fees up to $21. The state fee may be waived if the couple completes a qualifying premarital education class.
How old do you have to be to get married in Grayson County?
In Texas, individuals who are 18 years of age or older may get married. Individuals under the age of 18 can get married with parental consent and/or a court order, depending on their age.