Wood County Marriage Licenses

List of Wood County Marriage Licenses

Search for Wood County, TX marriage license rules and requirements. You can learn how to get a marriage license, a marriage certificate, or marriage records from your local Marriage License Office, Clerk, Health Department, or Town or City Hall.

Wood County Marriage License 100 South Main Street Quitman TX 75783 903-763-2711

Alba City Hall 145 Broadway Street Alba TX 75410 903-765-2396

Hawkins City Hall 250 Beaulah Street Hawkins TX 75765 903-769-4468

Mineola City Hall 300 Greenville Avenue Mineola TX 75773 903-569-6237

Quitman City Hall 401 E Goode St Quitman TX 75783 903-763-2223

Winnsboro City Hall 501 South Main Street Winnsboro TX 75494 903-342-3654

Wood County Clerk's Office 100 South Main Street Quitman TX 75783 903-763-2711

Wood County Health Department 213 Bermuda Street Quitman TX 75783 903-763-5406

Yantis City Hall 100 N Main St Yantis TX 75497 903-383-2610

About Marriage Licenses



Marriage License Application Requirements and Process:

1. Apply where: County Clerk's Office

2. Minimum Age: 18, or 16 with parental consent and under 16 with court order

3. Cost/fees: $60-$81; varies by county

4. Identification: driver's license, state-issued identification, passport, or military identification

5. Blood test / Physical Test: No

6. Residency Requirement: No

7. Witnesses: No

8. License Valid: 90 days

9. Waiting Period: 3 days

10. Same-sex marriage: Yes

11. Marriage between cousins: No

12. Divorce/Widow: 30 days for divorce

13. Proxy Marriage: Yes

14. Common Law Marriage: Yes

Questions/Answers about Wood County Marriage Licenses

What do you have to do to get married?

To get married in Texas, both members of the couple must visit a County Clerk's Office in person to fill out a marriage license application. In some counties, you can complete the paperwork online in advance. Active-duty military stationed abroad can submit an Absentee Affidavit if they are unable to apply for the marriage license in person. You will have to meet certain requirements, provide photo identification, and pay a fee. Once you have received the marriage license, you must perform a marriage ceremony while the license is still valid. Your officiant will complete the license and submit it to the County Clerk's Office to be recorded. Once the license is recorded, you will receive a certified marriage certificate.

How do I get a marriage license in Wood County, Texas?

You will need to visit the County Clerk's Office to apply for a marriage license. Some counties provide online application forms which you can complete in advance. Both members of the couple must show proof of age, provide valid photo identification, and pay a fee.

How much does it cost to get a marriage license in Texas?

The state-wide fee for a marriage license in Texas is $60. Some counties charge additional fees up to $21. The state fee may be waived if the couple completes a qualifying premarital education class.

How old do you have to be to get married in Wood County?

In Texas, individuals who are 18 years of age or older may get married. Individuals under the age of 18 can get married with parental consent and/or a court order, depending on their age.