Cameron County Marriage Licenses

List of Cameron County Marriage Licenses

Search for Cameron County, TX marriage license rules and requirements. You can learn how to get a marriage license, a marriage certificate, or marriage records from your local Marriage License Office, Clerk, Health Department, or Town or City Hall.

Cameron County Marriage License De La Garza, Building 1390 W. Expressway 83 San Benito TX 78586 956-544-0817

Brownsville City Health Department 416 Farm to Market Road 511 Olmito TX 78575 956-544-7351

Brownsville Health Department 1034 East Levee Street Brownsville TX 78520 956-542-3437

Cameron County Clerk 964 East Harrison Street Brownsville TX 78520 956-544-0815

Cameron County Health Department 1390 West Expressway 83 San Benito TX 78586 956-247-3685

Cameron County Health Department 142 Champion Avenue Port Isabel TX 78578 956-943-1300

Combes City Hall 21626 Hand Road Harlingen TX 78552 956-425-7131

Harlingen City Hall 118 East Tyler Avenue Harlingen TX 78550 956-428-2410

La Feria City Hall 115 East Commercial Avenue La Feria TX 78559 956-797-2261

Los Fresnos City Hall 200 North Brazil Street Los Fresnos TX 78566 956-233-5768

Port Isabel City Hall 305 East Maxan Street Port Isabel TX 78578 956-943-2684

Rio Hondo City Hall 310 South Robertson Road Rio Hondo TX 78583 956-748-2468

San Benito City Hall 401 North Sam Houston Boulevard San Benito TX 78586 956-361-3800

Santa Rosa City Hall 413 Santa Cruz Avenue Santa Rosa TX 78593 956-636-1113

South Padre Island City Hall 4501 Padre Boulevard South Padre Island TX 78597 956-761-6456

About Marriage Licenses



Marriage License Application Requirements and Process:

1. Apply where: County Clerk's Office

2. Minimum Age: 18, or 16 with parental consent and under 16 with court order

3. Cost/fees: $60-$81; varies by county

4. Identification: driver's license, state-issued identification, passport, or military identification

5. Blood test / Physical Test: No

6. Residency Requirement: No

7. Witnesses: No

8. License Valid: 90 days

9. Waiting Period: 3 days

10. Same-sex marriage: Yes

11. Marriage between cousins: No

12. Divorce/Widow: 30 days for divorce

13. Proxy Marriage: Yes

14. Common Law Marriage: Yes

Questions/Answers about Cameron County Marriage Licenses

What do you have to do to get married?

To get married in Texas, both members of the couple must visit a County Clerk's Office in person to fill out a marriage license application. In some counties, you can complete the paperwork online in advance. Active-duty military stationed abroad can submit an Absentee Affidavit if they are unable to apply for the marriage license in person. You will have to meet certain requirements, provide photo identification, and pay a fee. Once you have received the marriage license, you must perform a marriage ceremony while the license is still valid. Your officiant will complete the license and submit it to the County Clerk's Office to be recorded. Once the license is recorded, you will receive a certified marriage certificate.

How do I get a marriage license in Cameron County, Texas?

You will need to visit the County Clerk's Office to apply for a marriage license. Some counties provide online application forms which you can complete in advance. Both members of the couple must show proof of age, provide valid photo identification, and pay a fee.

How much does it cost to get a marriage license in Texas?

The state-wide fee for a marriage license in Texas is $60. Some counties charge additional fees up to $21. The state fee may be waived if the couple completes a qualifying premarital education class.

How old do you have to be to get married in Cameron County?

In Texas, individuals who are 18 years of age or older may get married. Individuals under the age of 18 can get married with parental consent and/or a court order, depending on their age.