Search for Galveston County, TX marriage license rules and requirements. You can learn how to get a marriage license, a marriage certificate, or marriage records from your local Marriage License Office, Clerk, Health Department, or Town or City Hall.
Galveston County Marriage License 722 Moody Avenue Galveston TX 77550 409-766-2200
Bacliff Health Department 848 Grand Avenue Bacliff TX 77518 281-559-3187
Dickinson City Hall 2716 Farm to Market Road 517 Dickinson TX 77539 281-534-3519
Friendswood City Hall 910 South Friendswood Drive Friendswood TX 77546 281-996-3250
Galveston City Hall 823 25th Street Galveston TX 77550 409-797-3650
Galveston County Clerk PO Box 17253 Galveston TX 77552 409-766-2200
Galveston County Clerk 600 59th Street Galveston TX 77551 409-766-2200
Hitchcock City Hall 7423 Highway 6 Hitchcock TX 77563 409-986-5591
Jamaica Beach City Hall 16628 Termini San Luis Pass Rd Galveston TX 77554 409-737-1142
Kemah City Hall 1401 Texas 146 Kemah TX 77565 281-334-1611
La Marque Health Department 3412 25th Avenue North Texas TX 77590 409-938-2282
League City Hall 300 West Walker Street League TX 77573 281-554-1000
Santa Fe City Hall 12002 Highway 6 Santa Fe TX 77510 409-316-9812
Texas City City Hall 1801 9th Avenue North Texas TX 77590 409-948-3111
Tiki Island Village City Hall 802 Tiki Drive Tiki Island TX 77554 409-935-1427
1. Apply where: County Clerk's Office
2. Minimum Age: 18, or 16 with parental consent and under 16 with court order
3. Cost/fees: $60-$81; varies by county
4. Identification: driver's license, state-issued identification, passport, or military identification
5. Blood test / Physical Test: No
6. Residency Requirement: No
7. Witnesses: No
8. License Valid: 90 days
9. Waiting Period: 3 days
10. Same-sex marriage: Yes
11. Marriage between cousins: No
12. Divorce/Widow: 30 days for divorce
13. Proxy Marriage: Yes
14. Common Law Marriage: Yes
What do you have to do to get married?
To get married in Texas, both members of the couple must visit a County Clerk's Office in person to fill out a marriage license application. In some counties, you can complete the paperwork online in advance. Active-duty military stationed abroad can submit an Absentee Affidavit if they are unable to apply for the marriage license in person. You will have to meet certain requirements, provide photo identification, and pay a fee. Once you have received the marriage license, you must perform a marriage ceremony while the license is still valid. Your officiant will complete the license and submit it to the County Clerk's Office to be recorded. Once the license is recorded, you will receive a certified marriage certificate.
How do I get a marriage license in Galveston County, Texas?
You will need to visit the County Clerk's Office to apply for a marriage license. Some counties provide online application forms which you can complete in advance. Both members of the couple must show proof of age, provide valid photo identification, and pay a fee.
How much does it cost to get a marriage license in Texas?
The state-wide fee for a marriage license in Texas is $60. Some counties charge additional fees up to $21. The state fee may be waived if the couple completes a qualifying premarital education class.
How old do you have to be to get married in Galveston County?
In Texas, individuals who are 18 years of age or older may get married. Individuals under the age of 18 can get married with parental consent and/or a court order, depending on their age.