Search for Hidalgo County, TX marriage license rules and requirements. You can learn how to get a marriage license, a marriage certificate, or marriage records from your local Marriage License Office, Clerk, Health Department, or Town or City Hall.
Hidalgo County Marriage License 100 North Closner Boulevard Edinburg TX 78539 956-318-2141
Alamo City Hall 420 N Tower Rd Alamo TX 78516 956-787-0006
Donna City Hall 307 South 12th Street Donna TX 78537 956-464-3314
Edcouch City Hall 211 Southern Avenue Edcouch TX 78538 956-262-2140
Edinburg City Clerk 210 West McIntyre Street Edinburg TX 78541 956-383-5661
Edinburg City Hall 415 West University Drive Edinburg TX 78539 956-388-8200
Hidalgo City Hall 704 East Texano Drive Hidalgo TX 78557 956-843-2286
Hidalgo County Clerk PO Box 58 Edinburg TX 78540 956-318-2100
Hidalgo County Clerk 100 North Closner Boulevard Edinburg TX 78539 956-318-2200
Hidalgo County Health Department 300 East Hackberry Avenue McAllen TX 78501 956-682-6155
Hidalgo County Health Department 1304 South 25th Avenue Edinburg TX 78542 956-383-6221
La Joya City Hall 101 Leo Avenue La Joya TX 78560 956-581-7002
La Villa City Hall 916 North Mike Chapa Road La Villa TX 78562 956-262-2122
McAllen City Hall 1300 West Houston Avenue McAllen TX 78501 956-681-1000
Mercedes City Hall 316 South Ohio Avenue Mercedes TX 78570 956-565-3114
Mission City Hall 1201 East 8th Street Mission TX 78572 956-580-8650
Mission City Health Department 2801 North Holland Avenue Mission TX 78574 956-580-8741
Pharr City Hall 118 South Cage Boulevard Pharr TX 78577 956-475-3200
Weslaco City Hall 1200 East 6th Street Weslaco TX 78596 956-969-1057
Weslaco City Hall 500 South Kansas Avenue Weslaco TX 78596 956-968-3181
Weslaco Health Department 255 South Kansas Avenue Weslaco TX 78596 956-968-3181
1. Apply where: County Clerk's Office
2. Minimum Age: 18, or 16 with parental consent and under 16 with court order
3. Cost/fees: $60-$81; varies by county
4. Identification: driver's license, state-issued identification, passport, or military identification
5. Blood test / Physical Test: No
6. Residency Requirement: No
7. Witnesses: No
8. License Valid: 90 days
9. Waiting Period: 3 days
10. Same-sex marriage: Yes
11. Marriage between cousins: No
12. Divorce/Widow: 30 days for divorce
13. Proxy Marriage: Yes
14. Common Law Marriage: Yes
What do you have to do to get married?
To get married in Texas, both members of the couple must visit a County Clerk's Office in person to fill out a marriage license application. In some counties, you can complete the paperwork online in advance. Active-duty military stationed abroad can submit an Absentee Affidavit if they are unable to apply for the marriage license in person. You will have to meet certain requirements, provide photo identification, and pay a fee. Once you have received the marriage license, you must perform a marriage ceremony while the license is still valid. Your officiant will complete the license and submit it to the County Clerk's Office to be recorded. Once the license is recorded, you will receive a certified marriage certificate.
How do I get a marriage license in Hidalgo County, Texas?
You will need to visit the County Clerk's Office to apply for a marriage license. Some counties provide online application forms which you can complete in advance. Both members of the couple must show proof of age, provide valid photo identification, and pay a fee.
How much does it cost to get a marriage license in Texas?
The state-wide fee for a marriage license in Texas is $60. Some counties charge additional fees up to $21. The state fee may be waived if the couple completes a qualifying premarital education class.
How old do you have to be to get married in Hidalgo County?
In Texas, individuals who are 18 years of age or older may get married. Individuals under the age of 18 can get married with parental consent and/or a court order, depending on their age.