Johnson County Marriage Licenses

List of Johnson County Marriage Licenses

Search for Johnson County, TX marriage license rules and requirements. You can learn how to get a marriage license, a marriage certificate, or marriage records from your local Marriage License Office, Clerk, Health Department, or Town or City Hall.

Johnson County Marriage License 247 Elk Drive Burleson TX 76028 817-202-4000

Alvarado City Hall 104 West College Street Alvarado TX 76009 817-790-3351

Alvarado Clerk 104 West College Street Alvarado TX 76009 817-790-3223

Burleson City Hall 141 West Renfro Street Burleson TX 76028 817-426-9600

Cleburne City Hall 10 North Robinson Street Cleburne TX 76031 817-645-0948

Cleburne Health Department 114 West Wardville Street Cleburne TX 76033 817-645-0958

Grandview City Hall 304 East Criner Street Grandview TX 76050 817-866-3399

Johnson County Clerk 204 South Buffalo Street Cleburne TX 76033 817-556-6323

Joshua City Hall 101 South Main Street Joshua TX 76058 817-558-7447

Keene City Hall 100 North Mockingbird Lane Keene TX 76059 817-641-3336

Rio Vista City Hall 201 Texas 174 Rio Vista TX 76093 817-373-2588

Venus City Hall 105 U.s. 67 Venus TX 76084 972-366-3348

About Marriage Licenses



Marriage License Application Requirements and Process:

1. Apply where: County Clerk's Office

2. Minimum Age: 18, or 16 with parental consent and under 16 with court order

3. Cost/fees: $60-$81; varies by county

4. Identification: driver's license, state-issued identification, passport, or military identification

5. Blood test / Physical Test: No

6. Residency Requirement: No

7. Witnesses: No

8. License Valid: 90 days

9. Waiting Period: 3 days

10. Same-sex marriage: Yes

11. Marriage between cousins: No

12. Divorce/Widow: 30 days for divorce

13. Proxy Marriage: Yes

14. Common Law Marriage: Yes

Questions/Answers about Johnson County Marriage Licenses

What do you have to do to get married?

To get married in Texas, both members of the couple must visit a County Clerk's Office in person to fill out a marriage license application. In some counties, you can complete the paperwork online in advance. Active-duty military stationed abroad can submit an Absentee Affidavit if they are unable to apply for the marriage license in person. You will have to meet certain requirements, provide photo identification, and pay a fee. Once you have received the marriage license, you must perform a marriage ceremony while the license is still valid. Your officiant will complete the license and submit it to the County Clerk's Office to be recorded. Once the license is recorded, you will receive a certified marriage certificate.

How do I get a marriage license in Johnson County, Texas?

You will need to visit the County Clerk's Office to apply for a marriage license. Some counties provide online application forms which you can complete in advance. Both members of the couple must show proof of age, provide valid photo identification, and pay a fee.

How much does it cost to get a marriage license in Texas?

The state-wide fee for a marriage license in Texas is $60. Some counties charge additional fees up to $21. The state fee may be waived if the couple completes a qualifying premarital education class.

How old do you have to be to get married in Johnson County?

In Texas, individuals who are 18 years of age or older may get married. Individuals under the age of 18 can get married with parental consent and/or a court order, depending on their age.