Search for San Patricio County, TX marriage license rules and requirements. You can learn how to get a marriage license, a marriage certificate, or marriage records from your local Marriage License Office, Clerk, Health Department, or Town or City Hall.
Aransas Pass City Hall 600 W Cleveland Blvd Aransas Pass TX 78336 361-758-5301
Gregory City Hall 204 West 4th Street Gregory TX 78359 361-643-6562
Mathis City Hall 411 East San Patricio Avenue Mathis TX 78368 361-547-3343
Odem City Hall 514 Voss Avenue Odem TX 78370 361-368-2831
Portland City Hall 900 Moore Avenue Portland TX 78374 361-643-6501
San Patricio County Clerk 400 West Sinton Street Sinton TX 78387 361-364-9350
San Patricio County Health Department 313 North Rachal Avenue Sinton TX 78387 361-364-6208
San Patricio Health Department 600 North Frio Street Mathis TX 78368 361-547-3328
San Patricio Health Department 2681 San Angelo Avenue Ingleside TX 78362 361-776-3591
Taft City Hall 501 Green Avenue Taft TX 78390 361-528-3512
1. Apply where: County Clerk's Office
2. Minimum Age: 18, or 16 with parental consent and under 16 with court order
3. Cost/fees: $60-$81; varies by county
4. Identification: driver's license, state-issued identification, passport, or military identification
5. Blood test / Physical Test: No
6. Residency Requirement: No
7. Witnesses: No
8. License Valid: 90 days
9. Waiting Period: 3 days
10. Same-sex marriage: Yes
11. Marriage between cousins: No
12. Divorce/Widow: 30 days for divorce
13. Proxy Marriage: Yes
14. Common Law Marriage: Yes
What do you have to do to get married?
To get married in Texas, both members of the couple must visit a County Clerk's Office in person to fill out a marriage license application. In some counties, you can complete the paperwork online in advance. Active-duty military stationed abroad can submit an Absentee Affidavit if they are unable to apply for the marriage license in person. You will have to meet certain requirements, provide photo identification, and pay a fee. Once you have received the marriage license, you must perform a marriage ceremony while the license is still valid. Your officiant will complete the license and submit it to the County Clerk's Office to be recorded. Once the license is recorded, you will receive a certified marriage certificate.
How do I get a marriage license in San Patricio County, Texas?
You will need to visit the County Clerk's Office to apply for a marriage license. Some counties provide online application forms which you can complete in advance. Both members of the couple must show proof of age, provide valid photo identification, and pay a fee.
How much does it cost to get a marriage license in Texas?
The state-wide fee for a marriage license in Texas is $60. Some counties charge additional fees up to $21. The state fee may be waived if the couple completes a qualifying premarital education class.
How old do you have to be to get married in San Patricio County?
In Texas, individuals who are 18 years of age or older may get married. Individuals under the age of 18 can get married with parental consent and/or a court order, depending on their age.