Search for Henderson County, TX marriage license rules and requirements. You can learn how to get a marriage license, a marriage certificate, or marriage records from your local Marriage License Office, Clerk, Health Department, or Town or City Hall.
Henderson County Marriage License 200 East Houston Athens TX 75751 903-935-4858
Athens City Hall 508 East Tyler Street Athens TX 75751 903-675-5131
Berryville City Hall 23170 County Road 4117 Frankston TX 75763 903-876-2371
Brownsboro City Hall 11351 Willow Brownsboro TX 75756 903-852-2401
Caney City Hall 15241 Barron Road Malakoff TX 75148 903-489-1844
Chandler City Hall 811 Texas 31 Chandler TX 75758 903-849-6853
Coffee County City Hall 7019 Pleasant Ridge Rd Frankston TX 75763 903-876-3414
Eustace City Hall 107 Edgar Street Eustace TX 75124 903-425-4702
Henderson County Clerk 125 North Prairieville Street Athens TX 75751 903-675-6140
Malakoff City Hall 109 S Melton Malakoff TX 75148 903-489-0699
Murchison City Hall 9540 Farm to Market Road 773 Murchison TX 75778 903-469-3710
Trinidad City Hall 212 Park St Trinidad TX 75163 903-778-2525
1. Apply where: County Clerk's Office
2. Minimum Age: 18, or 16 with parental consent and under 16 with court order
3. Cost/fees: $60-$81; varies by county
4. Identification: driver's license, state-issued identification, passport, or military identification
5. Blood test / Physical Test: No
6. Residency Requirement: No
7. Witnesses: No
8. License Valid: 90 days
9. Waiting Period: 3 days
10. Same-sex marriage: Yes
11. Marriage between cousins: No
12. Divorce/Widow: 30 days for divorce
13. Proxy Marriage: Yes
14. Common Law Marriage: Yes
What do you have to do to get married?
To get married in Texas, both members of the couple must visit a County Clerk's Office in person to fill out a marriage license application. In some counties, you can complete the paperwork online in advance. Active-duty military stationed abroad can submit an Absentee Affidavit if they are unable to apply for the marriage license in person. You will have to meet certain requirements, provide photo identification, and pay a fee. Once you have received the marriage license, you must perform a marriage ceremony while the license is still valid. Your officiant will complete the license and submit it to the County Clerk's Office to be recorded. Once the license is recorded, you will receive a certified marriage certificate.
How do I get a marriage license in Henderson County, Texas?
You will need to visit the County Clerk's Office to apply for a marriage license. Some counties provide online application forms which you can complete in advance. Both members of the couple must show proof of age, provide valid photo identification, and pay a fee.
How much does it cost to get a marriage license in Texas?
The state-wide fee for a marriage license in Texas is $60. Some counties charge additional fees up to $21. The state fee may be waived if the couple completes a qualifying premarital education class.
How old do you have to be to get married in Henderson County?
In Texas, individuals who are 18 years of age or older may get married. Individuals under the age of 18 can get married with parental consent and/or a court order, depending on their age.