Jefferson County Marriage Licenses

List of Jefferson County Marriage Licenses

Search for Jefferson County, TX marriage license rules and requirements. You can learn how to get a marriage license, a marriage certificate, or marriage records from your local Marriage License Office, Clerk, Health Department, or Town or City Hall.

Beaumont City Hall 801 Main Street Beaumont TX 77701 409-880-3789

Beaumont Health Department 3040 College Street Beaumont TX 77701 409-813-1052

Beaumont Health Department 950 Washington Boulevard Beaumont TX 77705 409-832-4000

Groves City Hall 3947 Lincoln Avenue Groves TX 77619 409-962-4471

Jefferson County Clerk 1001 Pearl Street Beaumont TX 77701 409-835-8475

Jefferson County Clerk 525 Lakeshore Drive Port Arthur TX 77640 409-983-8340

Jefferson County Health Department 3705 Saint James Boulevard Beaumont TX 77705 409-842-4036

Port Arthur City Hall 444 4th Street Port Arthur TX 77640 409-983-8100

Port Arthur Health Department 449 Austin Avenue Port Arthur TX 77640 409-983-8874

About Marriage Licenses



Marriage License Application Requirements and Process:

1. Apply where: County Clerk's Office

2. Minimum Age: 18, or 16 with parental consent and under 16 with court order

3. Cost/fees: $60-$81; varies by county

4. Identification: driver's license, state-issued identification, passport, or military identification

5. Blood test / Physical Test: No

6. Residency Requirement: No

7. Witnesses: No

8. License Valid: 90 days

9. Waiting Period: 3 days

10. Same-sex marriage: Yes

11. Marriage between cousins: No

12. Divorce/Widow: 30 days for divorce

13. Proxy Marriage: Yes

14. Common Law Marriage: Yes

Questions/Answers about Jefferson County Marriage Licenses

What do you have to do to get married?

To get married in Texas, both members of the couple must visit a County Clerk's Office in person to fill out a marriage license application. In some counties, you can complete the paperwork online in advance. Active-duty military stationed abroad can submit an Absentee Affidavit if they are unable to apply for the marriage license in person. You will have to meet certain requirements, provide photo identification, and pay a fee. Once you have received the marriage license, you must perform a marriage ceremony while the license is still valid. Your officiant will complete the license and submit it to the County Clerk's Office to be recorded. Once the license is recorded, you will receive a certified marriage certificate.

How do I get a marriage license in Jefferson County, Texas?

You will need to visit the County Clerk's Office to apply for a marriage license. Some counties provide online application forms which you can complete in advance. Both members of the couple must show proof of age, provide valid photo identification, and pay a fee.

How much does it cost to get a marriage license in Texas?

The state-wide fee for a marriage license in Texas is $60. Some counties charge additional fees up to $21. The state fee may be waived if the couple completes a qualifying premarital education class.

How old do you have to be to get married in Jefferson County?

In Texas, individuals who are 18 years of age or older may get married. Individuals under the age of 18 can get married with parental consent and/or a court order, depending on their age.