Search for Oklahoma marriage license rules and requirements. You can learn how to get a marriage license, a marriage certificate, or marriage records from your local Marriage License Office, Clerk, Health Department, or Town or City Hall.
1. Apply where: County Court Clerk's Office
2. Minimum Age: 18, or 16 with parental consent
3. Cost/fees: $50, or $5 with premarital counseling
4. Identification: driver's license, state-issued identification, passport, or military identification
5. Blood test / Physical Test: No
6. Residency Requirement: No
7. Witnesses: Yes
8. License Valid: 10 days
9. Waiting Period: No
10. Same-sex marriage: Yes
11. Marriage between cousins: No
12. Divorce/Widow: 6 month waiting period after divorce
13. Proxy Marriage: No
14. Common Law Marriage: No
What do you have to do to get married?
To get married in Oklahoma, both members of the couple must visit a County Court Clerk's Office in person to fill out a marriage license application. You will have to meet certain requirements, provide photo identification, and pay a fee. Once you have received the marriage license, you must perform a marriage ceremony while the license is still valid. Your officiant will complete the marriage license and submit it to the County Court Clerk's Office within five days of your ceremony in order for the marriage to be recorded.
How do I get a marriage license in Oklahoma?
You will need to visit the County Court Clerk's Office to apply for a marriage license. Both members of the couple must show proof of age, provide photo identification, and pay a fee. The license is valid anywhere in the state of Oklahoma.
How much does it cost to get a marriage license in Oklahoma?
A marriage license costs $50 in Oklahoma. However, if you attend premarital counseling, the fee is reduced to $5.
How old do you have to be to get married in Oklahoma?
You must reach the minimum age of 16 to get married in Oklahoma. Individuals who are under the age of 18 must have parental consent to get married.
Can you get married under 18 in Oklahoma?
Yes. Minors who have reached the age of 16 can get married in Oklahoma with parental consent. Parents must appear in person to sign a consent form, and minors must provide a birth certificate to prove age and the parental relationship. There is a 72-hour waiting period for minors before the marriage license is valid.
Do you need a blood test to get married?
No. There is no legal requirement for a premarital blood test or physical exam in order to get married in Oklahoma.
Who can legally marry you in Oklahoma?
The state of Oklahoma recognizes certain individuals as approved wedding officiants. This includes religious authorities and some government officials, such as judges. Ministers, priests, and other clergy are required to register with a County Court Clerk in order to perform weddings in Oklahoma.
Do you need a witness to get married?
Yes. In Oklahoma, two witnesses over the age of 18 must be present at the marriage ceremony. These witnesses must sign the marriage license, along with the officiant and the couple.
How long does it take to get a marriage license in Oklahoma?
There is no waiting period to get a marriage license, except for minors, who must wait 3 days before the license is valid. You must perform a marriage ceremony before your marriage license expires. The license is valid for 10 days.
What can you do when your marriage license expires?
If your Oklahoma marriage license expires, you must apply for a new marriage license and repeat the application procedure. You will also be required to pay the fee again.
What if you or your spouse were previously married? Widowed or divorced?
In Oklahoma, there is no waiting period after the end of a marriage to apply for a new marriage license if the previous marriage ended due to the death of a spouse. However, there is a six month waiting period to remarry after a divorce decree is filed. The Court Clerk may require a valid divorce decree before issuing a new marriage license. The only exception is if you are remarrying your former spouse.
Can you get married by proxy?
No. Marriage by proxy is not permitted in Oklahoma.
Is same-sex marriage legal in Oklahoma?
Yes. Same-sex marriage is legal in Oklahoma.
Can you marry your cousin?
No. You may not marry your cousin in Oklahoma.
Is Oklahoma a common law marriage state?
No. Common law marriages are not recognized by the state of Oklahoma.
How do you change your name after getting married?
You will need to present your marriage certificate to several government entities, including the Oklahoma state or county government, the Oklahoma Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV) to receive a new license, the Social Security Administration (SSA) to update your Social Security Card, the U.S. Department of State to receive a new passport, the Internal Revenue Service (IRS), and the U.S. Postal Service (USPS). Some government agencies may require a valid marriage certificate. You may also need to provide a marriage certificate to change your name on your insurance, bank accounts, utilities, and with other companies.