Search for Missouri marriage license rules and requirements. You can learn how to get a marriage license, a marriage certificate, or marriage records from your local Marriage License Office, Clerk, Health Department, or Town or City Hall.
1. Apply where: County Recorder of Deeds
2. Minimum Age: 18, or 15 with parental consent and under 15 with a court order
3. Cost/fees: $50; varies by county
4. Identification: driver's license, state-issued identification, passport, or military identification
5. Blood test / Physical Test: No
6. Residency Requirement: No
7. Witnesses: No
8. License Valid: 30 days
9. Waiting Period: No
10. Same-sex marriage: Yes
11. Marriage between cousins: No
12. Divorce/Widow: Yes, with disclosure
13. Proxy Marriage: No
14. Common Law Marriage: No
What do you have to do to get married?
To get married in Missouri, both members of the couple must visit a County Recorder of Deeds Office in person to fill out a marriage license application. You will have to meet certain requirements, provide photo identification, and pay a fee. Once you have received the marriage license, you must perform a marriage ceremony while the license is still valid. Your officiant will fill out the marriage license and submit it to the proper government office. Make sure there are no errors in the license before it is submitted. The couple can then obtain a marriage certificate from the County Recorder of Deeds.
How do I get a marriage license in Missouri?
You will need to visit the County Recorder of Deeds to apply for a marriage license. Both members of the couple must prove their ages, provide valid photo identification, and pay a fee.
How much does it cost to get a marriage license in Missouri?
The fee to receive a marriage license in Missouri is approximately $50. The fee is set by the county and varies depending on where you apply for a marriage license.
How old do you have to be to get married in Missouri?
In Missouri, individuals who are 18 years of age or older may get married. Individuals under the age of 18 can get married with parental consent and/or a court order, depending on their age.
Can you get married under 18 in Missouri?
Yes. Individuals who are between 15 and 18 can get married in Missouri with the consent of both custodial parents or legal guardians. Both sets of parents or legal guardians must be present and provide photo identification. Individuals who are under 15 can get married with parental consent and a court order from the circuit court.
Do you need a blood test to get married?
No. There is no legal requirement for a premarital blood test or physical exam in order to get married in Missouri.
Who can legally marry you in Missouri?
The state of Missouri recognizes certain individuals as approved wedding officiants. This includes religious authorities as well as government officials, such as judges. Ministers, priests, and other clergy do not need to receive any special license to perform weddings in Missouri.
Do you need a witness to get married?
Yes. In Missouri, two witnesses over the age of 18 must be present at the marriage ceremony. These witnesses must sign the marriage license, along with the officiant and the couple.
How long does it take to get a marriage license in Missouri?
There is no waiting period to get a marriage license. However, you must get married before your marriage license expires. The marriage license is valid for 30 days.
What can you do when your marriage license expires?
If your Missouri marriage license expires, you must apply for a new marriage license and repeat the application procedure. You will also be required to pay the fee again.
What if you or your spouse were previously married? Widowed or divorced?
In Missouri, there is no waiting period after the end of a marriage to apply for a new marriage license. However, previous marriages must be disclosed on the marriage license application, including the date at which any prior marriages ended.
Can you get married by proxy?
No. Marriage by proxy is not permitted in Missouri.
Is same-sex marriage legal in Missouri?
Yes. Same-sex marriage is legal in Missouri.
Can you marry your cousin?
No. You cannot marry your cousin in Missouri.
Is Missouri a common law marriage state?
No. Common law marriages are not recognized by the state of Missouri.
How do you change your name after getting married?
You will need to present your marriage certificate to several government entities, including the Missouri state or county government, the Missouri Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV) to receive a new license, the Social Security Administration (SSA) to update your Social Security Card, the U.S. Department of State to receive a new passport, the Internal Revenue Service (IRS), and the U.S. Postal Service (USPS). Some government agencies may require a valid marriage certificate. You may also need to provide a marriage certificate to change your name on your insurance, bank accounts, utilities, and with other companies.