Pettis County Marriage Licenses

Search for Pettis County MO marriage license rules and requirements. You can learn how to get a marriage license, a marriage certificate, or marriage records from your local Marriage License Office, Clerk, Health Department, or Town or City Hall.


Pettis County Marriage License Pettis County Courthouse, Suite 106, 415 South Ohio Ave. Sedalia MO 65301 660-826-5000


Green Ridge City Hall 104 West Pettis Street Green Ridge MO 65332 660-527-3541

Houstonia City Hall 121 North Walnut Street Houstonia MO 65333 660-568-3555

Hughesville Town Hall 205 Main Street Hughesville MO 65334 660-827-5150

La Monte City Hall 107 North Main Street La Monte MO 65337 660-347-5606

Pettis County Clerk 415 South Ohio Avenue Sedalia MO 65301 660-826-5000

Sedalia Health Department 818 Westwood Avenue Sedalia MO 65301 660-530-5700

Smithton City Hall 101 West Washington Road Smithton MO 65350 660-343-5444

About Marriage Licenses



Marriage License Application Requirements and Process:

1. Apply where: County Recorder of Deeds

2. Minimum Age: 18, or 15 with parental consent and under 15 with a court order

3. Cost/fees: $50; varies by county

4. Identification: driver's license, state-issued identification, passport, or military identification

5. Blood test / Physical Test: No

6. Residency Requirement: No

7. Witnesses: No

8. License Valid: 30 days

9. Waiting Period: No

10. Same-sex marriage: Yes

11. Marriage between cousins: No

12. Divorce/Widow: Yes, with disclosure

13. Proxy Marriage: No

14. Common Law Marriage: No

Questions/Answers about Pettis County Marriage Licenses

What do you have to do to get married?

To get married in Missouri, both members of the couple must visit a County Recorder of Deeds Office in person to fill out a marriage license application. You will have to meet certain requirements, provide photo identification, and pay a fee. Once you have received the marriage license, you must perform a marriage ceremony while the license is still valid. Your officiant will fill out the marriage license and submit it to the proper government office. Make sure there are no errors in the license before it is submitted. The couple can then obtain a marriage certificate from the County Recorder of Deeds.

How do I get a marriage license in Pettis County, Missouri?

You will need to visit the County Recorder of Deeds to apply for a marriage license. Both members of the couple must prove their ages, provide valid photo identification, and pay a fee.

How much does it cost to get a marriage license in Missouri?

The fee to receive a marriage license in Missouri is approximately $50. The fee is set by the county and varies depending on where you apply for a marriage license.

How old do you have to be to get married in Pettis County?

In Missouri, individuals who are 18 years of age or older may get married. Individuals under the age of 18 can get married with parental consent and/or a court order, depending on their age.