Cape Girardeau County Marriage Licenses

Search for Cape Girardeau County MO marriage license rules and requirements. You can learn how to get a marriage license, a marriage certificate, or marriage records from your local Marriage License Office, Clerk, Health Department, or Town or City Hall.


Cape Girardeau County Marriage License 1 Barton Square Jackson MO 63755 573-243-8123


Cape Girardeau City Hall 401 Independence Street Cape Girardeau MO 63703 573-339-6328

Cape Girardeau Clerk 44 North Lorimier Street Cape Girardeau MO 63701 573-335-8253

Cape Girardeau County Clerk 1 Barton Square Jackson MO 63755 573-243-3547

Cape Girardeau County Health Department 1121 Linden Street Cape Girardeau MO 63703 573-335-7846

Delta City Hall 211 East State Street Delta MO 63744 573-794-0911

Gordonville City Hall 605 State Highway E Jackson MO 63755 573-204-7602

Jackson City Hall 101 Court Street Jackson MO 63755 573-243-3568

About Marriage Licenses



Marriage License Application Requirements and Process:

1. Apply where: County Recorder of Deeds

2. Minimum Age: 18, or 15 with parental consent and under 15 with a court order

3. Cost/fees: $50; varies by county

4. Identification: driver's license, state-issued identification, passport, or military identification

5. Blood test / Physical Test: No

6. Residency Requirement: No

7. Witnesses: No

8. License Valid: 30 days

9. Waiting Period: No

10. Same-sex marriage: Yes

11. Marriage between cousins: No

12. Divorce/Widow: Yes, with disclosure

13. Proxy Marriage: No

14. Common Law Marriage: No

Questions/Answers about Cape Girardeau County Marriage Licenses

What do you have to do to get married?

To get married in Missouri, both members of the couple must visit a County Recorder of Deeds Office in person to fill out a marriage license application. You will have to meet certain requirements, provide photo identification, and pay a fee. Once you have received the marriage license, you must perform a marriage ceremony while the license is still valid. Your officiant will fill out the marriage license and submit it to the proper government office. Make sure there are no errors in the license before it is submitted. The couple can then obtain a marriage certificate from the County Recorder of Deeds.

How do I get a marriage license in Cape Girardeau County, Missouri?

You will need to visit the County Recorder of Deeds to apply for a marriage license. Both members of the couple must prove their ages, provide valid photo identification, and pay a fee.

How much does it cost to get a marriage license in Missouri?

The fee to receive a marriage license in Missouri is approximately $50. The fee is set by the county and varies depending on where you apply for a marriage license.

How old do you have to be to get married in Cape Girardeau County?

In Missouri, individuals who are 18 years of age or older may get married. Individuals under the age of 18 can get married with parental consent and/or a court order, depending on their age.