Search for Jackson County, MO marriage license rules and requirements. You can learn how to get a marriage license, a marriage certificate, or marriage records from your local Marriage License Office, Clerk, Health Department, or Town or City Hall.
Jackson County Marriage License Jackson County Courthouse, Recorder Of Deeds Office, 415 E. 12Th St., Rm. 104 Kansas MO 64106 816-881-3192
Jackson County Marriage License Historic Truman Courthouse, Recorder Of Deeds Department, 112 W. Lexington, Suite 30 Independence MO 64050 816-881-4608
Buckner City Hall 4 West Monroe Street Buckner MO 64016 816-650-3191
Buckner Town Hall 32 South Sibley Street Buckner MO 64016 816-249-5665
Grain Valley City Hall 711 South Main Street Grain Valley MO 64029 816-847-6200
Grandview City Hall 1200 Main Street Grandview MO 64030 816-316-4800
Greenwood City Hall 709 West Main Street Greenwood MO 64034 816-537-6969
Independence City Hall 111 East Maple Avenue Independence MO 64050 816-325-7000
Jackson County Clerk 215 North Liberty Street Independence MO 64050 816-325-4600
Jackson County Health Department 313 South Liberty Street Independence MO 64050 816-404-6415
Kansas City City Hall 414 East 12th Street Kansas MO 64106 816-513-1019
Kansas City Clerk 414 East 12th Street Kansas MO 64106 816-513-3360
Kansas City Health Department 2400 Troost Avenue Kansas MO 64108 816-513-6008
Levasy City Hall 103 Pacific Avenue Levasy MO 64066 816-650-3552
Lone Jack City Hall 207 North Bynum Road Lone Jack MO 64070 816-697-2503
Missouri State Health Department 1950 Northeast Independence Avenue Lee's Summit MO 64064 816-622-0717
Oak Grove City Hall 1300 South Broadway Oak Grove MO 64075 816-625-4012
Sibley City Hall 208 Front Street Sibley MO 64088 816-650-9515
1. Apply where: County Recorder of Deeds
2. Minimum Age: 18, or 15 with parental consent and under 15 with a court order
3. Cost/fees: $50; varies by county
4. Identification: driver's license, state-issued identification, passport, or military identification
5. Blood test / Physical Test: No
6. Residency Requirement: No
7. Witnesses: No
8. License Valid: 30 days
9. Waiting Period: No
10. Same-sex marriage: Yes
11. Marriage between cousins: No
12. Divorce/Widow: Yes, with disclosure
13. Proxy Marriage: No
14. Common Law Marriage: No
What do you have to do to get married?
To get married in Missouri, both members of the couple must visit a County Recorder of Deeds Office in person to fill out a marriage license application. You will have to meet certain requirements, provide photo identification, and pay a fee. Once you have received the marriage license, you must perform a marriage ceremony while the license is still valid. Your officiant will fill out the marriage license and submit it to the proper government office. Make sure there are no errors in the license before it is submitted. The couple can then obtain a marriage certificate from the County Recorder of Deeds.
How do I get a marriage license in Jackson County, Missouri?
You will need to visit the County Recorder of Deeds to apply for a marriage license. Both members of the couple must prove their ages, provide valid photo identification, and pay a fee.
How much does it cost to get a marriage license in Missouri?
The fee to receive a marriage license in Missouri is approximately $50. The fee is set by the county and varies depending on where you apply for a marriage license.
How old do you have to be to get married in Jackson County?
In Missouri, individuals who are 18 years of age or older may get married. Individuals under the age of 18 can get married with parental consent and/or a court order, depending on their age.