Jefferson County Marriage Licenses

Search for Jefferson County MO marriage license rules and requirements. You can learn how to get a marriage license, a marriage certificate, or marriage records from your local Marriage License Office, Clerk, Health Department, or Town or City Hall.


Jefferson County Marriage License 729 Maple Street Hillsboro MO 63050 636-797-5414


Arnold City Clerk 2101 Jeffco Boulevard Arnold MO 63010 636-296-4308

Arnold City Hall 2101 Jeffco Boulevard Arnold MO 63010 636-296-2100

Crystal City City Hall 130 Mississippi Avenue Crystal MO 63019 636-937-4614

Crystal City Clerk 130 Mississippi Avenue Crystal MO 63019 636-937-4604

De Soto City Clerk 17 Boyd Street De Soto MO 63020 636-586-3326

Festus City Hall 711 West Main Street Festus MO 63028 636-937-4694

Herculaneum City Hall 1 Parkwood Court Herculaneum MO 63048 636-475-4447

Jefferson County Clerk 729 Maple Street Hillsboro MO 63050 636-797-5483

Jefferson County Health Department 405 Main Street Hillsboro MO 63050 636-789-3372

Kimmswick City Hall 6041 3rd Street Imperial MO 63052 636-464-7407

Pevely City Hall 401 Main Street Pevely MO 63070 636-475-4452

About Marriage Licenses



Marriage License Application Requirements and Process:

1. Apply where: County Recorder of Deeds

2. Minimum Age: 18, or 15 with parental consent and under 15 with a court order

3. Cost/fees: $50; varies by county

4. Identification: driver's license, state-issued identification, passport, or military identification

5. Blood test / Physical Test: No

6. Residency Requirement: No

7. Witnesses: No

8. License Valid: 30 days

9. Waiting Period: No

10. Same-sex marriage: Yes

11. Marriage between cousins: No

12. Divorce/Widow: Yes, with disclosure

13. Proxy Marriage: No

14. Common Law Marriage: No

Questions/Answers about Jefferson County Marriage Licenses

What do you have to do to get married?

To get married in Missouri, both members of the couple must visit a County Recorder of Deeds Office in person to fill out a marriage license application. You will have to meet certain requirements, provide photo identification, and pay a fee. Once you have received the marriage license, you must perform a marriage ceremony while the license is still valid. Your officiant will fill out the marriage license and submit it to the proper government office. Make sure there are no errors in the license before it is submitted. The couple can then obtain a marriage certificate from the County Recorder of Deeds.

How do I get a marriage license in Jefferson County, Missouri?

You will need to visit the County Recorder of Deeds to apply for a marriage license. Both members of the couple must prove their ages, provide valid photo identification, and pay a fee.

How much does it cost to get a marriage license in Missouri?

The fee to receive a marriage license in Missouri is approximately $50. The fee is set by the county and varies depending on where you apply for a marriage license.

How old do you have to be to get married in Jefferson County?

In Missouri, individuals who are 18 years of age or older may get married. Individuals under the age of 18 can get married with parental consent and/or a court order, depending on their age.