Search for Kansas marriage license rules and requirements. You can learn how to get a marriage license, a marriage certificate, or marriage records from your local Marriage License Office, Clerk, Health Department, or Town or City Hall.
1. Apply where: District Court Clerk's Office
2. Minimum Age: 18, or 15 with court order
3. Cost/fees: $85.50
4. Identification: driver's license, state-issued identification, passport, or military identification
5. Blood test / Physical Test: No
6. Residency Requirement: No
7. Witnesses: Yes
8. License Valid: 6 months
9. Waiting Period: 3 days
10. Same-sex marriage: Yes
11. Marriage between cousins: No
12. Divorce/Widow: Yes, with disclosure
13. Proxy Marriage: No
14. Common Law Marriage: Yes
What do you have to do to get married?
To get married in Kansas, both members of the couple must visit a District Court Clerk's Office in person to fill out a marriage license application. You will have to meet certain age requirements, provide photo identification, and pay a fee. Once you have received the marriage license, you must perform a marriage ceremony while the license is still valid. Your officiant will fill out the marriage license and submit it to the judge or clerk of the District Court that issued the license.
How do I get a marriage license in Kansas?
You will need to visit the District Court Clerk's Office to apply for a marriage license. Both members of the couple must prove their age, provide photo identification, and pay a fee.
How much does it cost to get a marriage license in Kansas?
In Kansas, the fee for a marriage license is $85.50. This fee must be paid in cash.
How old do you have to be to get married in Kansas?
You must reach the minimum of 15 years of age to get married in Kansas. Individuals who are under the age of 18 must have parental consent and/or a court order.
Can you get married under 18 in Kansas?
Yes. Individuals who are between 16 and 18 can get married if they receive permission from both parents, or one parent and a judge. If the minor has no parents or legal guardian, permission must be granted by a judge. Individuals who are 15 can marry with permission from a district court judge.
Do you need a blood test to get married?
No. There is no legal requirement for a premarital blood test or physical exam in order to get married in Kansas.
Who can legally marry you in Kansas?
In Kansas, wedding officiants must be officially recognized by the state. Officiants can be religious authorities or government officials, such as a judge.
Do you need a witness to get married?
Yes. In Kansas, two witnesses over the age of 18 must be present at the marriage ceremony. These witnesses must sign the marriage license, along with the officiant and the couple.
How long does it take to get a marriage license in Kansas?
There is a 3 day waiting period after submitting your application to receive a marriage license. The marriage license is valid for 6 months, and you must perform the marriage ceremony before the issued license expires.
What can you do when your marriage license expires?
If your Kansas marriage license expires, you must apply for a new marriage license and repeat the application procedure. You will also be required to pay the fee again.
What if you or your spouse were previously married? Widowed or divorced?
In Kansas, there is no waiting period after the end of a marriage to apply for a new marriage license. However, previous marriages must be disclosed and you must provide the date all prior marriages ended on the marriage license application.
Can you get married by proxy?
No. Kansas does not permit marriage by proxy.
Is same-sex marriage legal in Kansas?
Yes. Same-sex marriage is legal in Kansas.
Can you marry your cousin?
No. You cannot marry your cousin in Kansas.
Is Kansas a common law marriage state?
Yes. Common law marriages are recognized by the state of Kansas.
How do you change your name after getting married?
You will need to present your marriage certificate to several government entities, including the Kansas state or county government, the Kansas Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV) to receive a new license, the Social Security Administration (SSA) to update your Social Security Card, the U.S. Department of State to receive a new passport, the Internal Revenue Service (IRS), and the U.S. Postal Service (USPS). Some government agencies may require a valid marriage certificate. You may also need to provide a marriage certificate to change your name on your insurance, bank accounts, utilities, and with other companies.