Search for Johnson County, KS marriage license rules and requirements. You can learn how to get a marriage license, a marriage certificate, or marriage records from your local Marriage License Office, Clerk, Health Department, or Town or City Hall.
Johnson County Marriage License 100 North Kansas Avenue Olathe KS 66061 913-715-3350
De Soto City Hall 32905 W 84th St De Soto KS 66018 913-583-1182
Edgerton City Hall 404 East Nelson Street Edgerton KS 66021 913-893-6231
Gardner City Clerk 120 East Main Street Gardner KS 66030 913-856-0951
Gardner City Hall 120 East Main Street Gardner KS 66030 913-856-7535
Johnson County Clerk 111 South Cherry Street Olathe KS 66061 913-715-0775
Johnson County Health Department 11875 South Sunset Drive Olathe KS 66061 913-826-1200
Leawood City Hall 4800 Town Center Drive Leawood KS 66211 913-339-6700
Lenexa City Hall 12350 West 87th Street Parkway Lenexa KS 66215 913-477-7500
Mission City Hall 6090 Woodson Road Mission KS 66202 913-676-8350
Mission Clerk 6090 Woodson Road Mission KS 66202 913-722-0698
Olathe City Hall 100 East Santa Fe Street Olathe KS 66061 913-971-8600
Overland Park City Hall 12400 Foster Street Overland Park KS 66213 913-327-6870
Prairie Village City Hall 7700 Mission Road Prairie Village KS 66208 913-381-6464
Shawnee City Hall 11110 Johnson Drive Shawnee KS 66203 913-631-2500
Spring Hill City Clerk 401 North Madison Street Spring Hill KS 66083 913-592-3664
Spring Hill City Hall 302 North Jefferson Street Spring Hill KS 66083 913-592-3664
Westwood Kansas-City Clerk 4700 Rainbow Boulevard Westwood KS 66205 913-362-3737
1. Apply where: District Court Clerk's Office
2. Minimum Age: 18, or 15 with court order
3. Cost/fees: $85.50
4. Identification: driver's license, state-issued identification, passport, or military identification
5. Blood test / Physical Test: No
6. Residency Requirement: No
7. Witnesses: Yes
8. License Valid: 6 months
9. Waiting Period: 3 days
10. Same-sex marriage: Yes
11. Marriage between cousins: No
12. Divorce/Widow: Yes, with disclosure
13. Proxy Marriage: No
14. Common Law Marriage: Yes
What do you have to do to get married?
To get married in Kansas, both members of the couple must visit a District Court Clerk's Office in person to fill out a marriage license application. You will have to meet certain age requirements, provide photo identification, and pay a fee. Once you have received the marriage license, you must perform a marriage ceremony while the license is still valid. Your officiant will fill out the marriage license and submit it to the judge or clerk of the District Court that issued the license.
How do I get a marriage license in Johnson County, Kansas?
You will need to visit the District Court Clerk's Office to apply for a marriage license. Both members of the couple must prove their age, provide photo identification, and pay a fee.
How much does it cost to get a marriage license in Kansas?
In Kansas, the fee for a marriage license is $85.50. This fee must be paid in cash.
How old do you have to be to get married in Johnson County?
You must reach the minimum of 15 years of age to get married in Kansas. Individuals who are under the age of 18 must have parental consent and/or a court order.