Search for Cherokee County KS marriage license rules and requirements. You can learn how to get a marriage license, a marriage certificate, or marriage records from your local Marriage License Office, Clerk, Health Department, or Town or City Hall.
Cherokee County Marriage License 110 West Maple Street Columbus KS 66725 620-429-3880
Baxter Springs City Hall 1445 Military Avenue Baxter Springs KS 66713 620-856-2114
Cherokee County Clerk PO Box 14 Columbus KS 66725 620-429-8044
Cherokee County Health Department 110 East Walnut Street Columbus KS 66725 620-429-3087
Columbus City Hall 300 East Maple Street Columbus KS 66725 620-429-2159
Galena Clerk 211 West 7th Street Galena KS 66739 620-783-5265
Scammon City Hall 202 East 3rd Street Scammon KS 66773 620-479-2321
Weir City Clerk 612 South Jefferson Street Weir KS 66781 620-396-8214
West Mineral City Hall 200 Janett Street Scammon KS 66773 620-827-6131
1. Apply where: District Court Clerk's Office
2. Minimum Age: 18, or 15 with court order
3. Cost/fees: $85.50
4. Identification: driver's license, state-issued identification, passport, or military identification
5. Blood test / Physical Test: No
6. Residency Requirement: No
7. Witnesses: Yes
8. License Valid: 6 months
9. Waiting Period: 3 days
10. Same-sex marriage: Yes
11. Marriage between cousins: No
12. Divorce/Widow: Yes, with disclosure
13. Proxy Marriage: No
14. Common Law Marriage: Yes
What do you have to do to get married?
To get married in Kansas, both members of the couple must visit a District Court Clerk's Office in person to fill out a marriage license application. You will have to meet certain age requirements, provide photo identification, and pay a fee. Once you have received the marriage license, you must perform a marriage ceremony while the license is still valid. Your officiant will fill out the marriage license and submit it to the judge or clerk of the District Court that issued the license.
How do I get a marriage license in Cherokee County, Kansas?
You will need to visit the District Court Clerk's Office to apply for a marriage license. Both members of the couple must prove their age, provide photo identification, and pay a fee.
How much does it cost to get a marriage license in Kansas?
In Kansas, the fee for a marriage license is $85.50. This fee must be paid in cash.
How old do you have to be to get married in Cherokee County?
You must reach the minimum of 15 years of age to get married in Kansas. Individuals who are under the age of 18 must have parental consent and/or a court order.