Search for Montgomery County KS marriage license rules and requirements. You can learn how to get a marriage license, a marriage certificate, or marriage records from your local Marriage License Office, Clerk, Health Department, or Town or City Hall.
Montgomery County Marriage License 300 East Main Street Independence KS 67301 620-330-1070
Caney City Hall 100 West 4th Avenue Caney KS 67333 620-879-2772
Cherryvale City Clerk 123 West Main Street Cherryvale KS 67335 620-336-2776
Coffeyville Clerk 102 West 7th Street Coffeyville KS 67337 620-252-6114
Dearing City Clerk 306 Independence Avenue Dearing KS 67340 620-948-3302
Elk City City Hall 114 South Montgomery Avenue Elk KS 67344 620-627-2484
Montgomery County Clerk 217 East Myrtle Street Independence KS 67301 620-330-1200
Montgomery County Health Department 209 East Laurel Street Independence KS 67301 620-331-4300
Montgomery County Health Department 908 South Walnut Street Coffeyville KS 67337 620-251-4210
1. Apply where: District Court Clerk's Office
2. Minimum Age: 18, or 15 with court order
3. Cost/fees: $85.50
4. Identification: driver's license, state-issued identification, passport, or military identification
5. Blood test / Physical Test: No
6. Residency Requirement: No
7. Witnesses: Yes
8. License Valid: 6 months
9. Waiting Period: 3 days
10. Same-sex marriage: Yes
11. Marriage between cousins: No
12. Divorce/Widow: Yes, with disclosure
13. Proxy Marriage: No
14. Common Law Marriage: Yes
What do you have to do to get married?
To get married in Kansas, both members of the couple must visit a District Court Clerk's Office in person to fill out a marriage license application. You will have to meet certain age requirements, provide photo identification, and pay a fee. Once you have received the marriage license, you must perform a marriage ceremony while the license is still valid. Your officiant will fill out the marriage license and submit it to the judge or clerk of the District Court that issued the license.
How do I get a marriage license in Montgomery County, Kansas?
You will need to visit the District Court Clerk's Office to apply for a marriage license. Both members of the couple must prove their age, provide photo identification, and pay a fee.
How much does it cost to get a marriage license in Kansas?
In Kansas, the fee for a marriage license is $85.50. This fee must be paid in cash.
How old do you have to be to get married in Montgomery County?
You must reach the minimum of 15 years of age to get married in Kansas. Individuals who are under the age of 18 must have parental consent and/or a court order.