Douglas County Marriage Licenses

Search for Douglas County KS marriage license rules and requirements. You can learn how to get a marriage license, a marriage certificate, or marriage records from your local Marriage License Office, Clerk, Health Department, or Town or City Hall.


Douglas County Marriage License 111 E. 11Th Street, 1St Level & Basement Lawrence KS 66044 785-832-5256


Baldwin City City Hall 803 8th St Baldwin KS 66006 785-594-6427

Department of Health and Environment 800 West 24th Street Lawrence KS 66046 785-842-4600

Douglas County Clerk 1100 Massachusetts Street Lawrence KS 66044 785-832-5181

Douglas County Health Department 200 Maine Street Lawrence KS 66044 785-843-0721

Lawrence City Hall 6 East 6th Street Lawrence KS 66044 785-832-3000

Lecompton City Hall 327 Elmore Street Lecompton KS 66050 785-887-6407

About Marriage Licenses



Marriage License Application Requirements and Process:

1. Apply where: District Court Clerk's Office

2. Minimum Age: 18, or 15 with court order

3. Cost/fees: $85.50

4. Identification: driver's license, state-issued identification, passport, or military identification

5. Blood test / Physical Test: No

6. Residency Requirement: No

7. Witnesses: Yes

8. License Valid: 6 months

9. Waiting Period: 3 days

10. Same-sex marriage: Yes

11. Marriage between cousins: No

12. Divorce/Widow: Yes, with disclosure

13. Proxy Marriage: No

14. Common Law Marriage: Yes

Questions/Answers about Douglas County Marriage Licenses

What do you have to do to get married?

To get married in Kansas, both members of the couple must visit a District Court Clerk's Office in person to fill out a marriage license application. You will have to meet certain age requirements, provide photo identification, and pay a fee. Once you have received the marriage license, you must perform a marriage ceremony while the license is still valid. Your officiant will fill out the marriage license and submit it to the judge or clerk of the District Court that issued the license.

How do I get a marriage license in Douglas County, Kansas?

You will need to visit the District Court Clerk's Office to apply for a marriage license. Both members of the couple must prove their age, provide photo identification, and pay a fee.

How much does it cost to get a marriage license in Kansas?

In Kansas, the fee for a marriage license is $85.50. This fee must be paid in cash.

How old do you have to be to get married in Douglas County?

You must reach the minimum of 15 years of age to get married in Kansas. Individuals who are under the age of 18 must have parental consent and/or a court order.