Search for Florida marriage license rules and requirements. You can learn how to get a marriage license, a marriage certificate, or marriage records from your local Marriage License Office, Clerk, Health Department, or Town or City Hall.
1. Apply where: County Clerk's Office
2. Minimum Age: 18, or 16 with parental consent or when the couple has or is expecting a child
3. Cost/fees: $93.50, or $61.00 for residents who complete the premarital course
4. Identification: driver's license, state-issued identification, passport, or military identification
5. Blood test / Physical Test: No
6. Residency Requirement: No
7. Witnesses: No
8. License Valid: 60 days
9. Waiting Period: No, for non-residents or for residents who complete an official premarital course; residents who do not complete the course must wait 3 days
10. Same-sex marriage: Yes
11. Marriage between cousins: Yes
12. Divorce/Widow: Yes, with official documents
13. Proxy Marriage: No
14. Common Law Marriage: No; but common law marriages prior to January 1, 1968 are still recognized as valid
What do you have to do to get married?
To get married in Florida, both members of the couple must visit a County Clerk's Office in person to fill out a marriage license application. You will have to meet certain age requirements, provide photo identification, and pay a fee. Once you have submitted the application, you will either receive the license immediately if you are not a Florida resident or you are a resident and have completed the official premarital course. Florida residents who do not complete the course must wait 3 days. You must perform a marriage ceremony while the license is still valid. Your officiant will fill out the marriage license and submit it to the required government recording agency.
How do I get a marriage license in Florida?
You will need to visit the County Clerk's Office to apply for a marriage license. Both members of the couple must meet the age requirement, present valid forms of identification, and pay a fee.
How much does it cost to get a marriage license in Florida?
Non-residents and residents who choose not to participate in the official premarital course must pay $93.50. Resident who complete the premarital course pay a discounted rate of $61.
How old do you have to be to get married in Florida?
You must reach the minimum age of 16 to get married in Florida. Individuals who are between 16 and 18 must have parental or guardian consent to get married, or the couple must have or be expecting a child.
Can you get married under 18 in Florida?
Yes. Individuals who are between 16 and 18 can get married with parental consent or if the couple has or is expecting a child. Parental consent must be obtained from both parents or legal guardians, or sufficient evidence must be supplied if one parent or guardian is absent.
Do you need a blood test to get married?
No. There is no legal requirement for a premarital blood test or physical exam in order to get married in Florida.
Who can legally marry you in Florida?
Florida recognizes specific individuals as legal wedding officiants. This includes ordained ministers, ordained clergy, elders in communion with a recognized church, judges, Clerks of Circuit Courts and their deputies, and notaries public licensed in the State of Florida.
Do you need a witness to get married?
No. The state of Florida does not require witnesses for a marriage. However, the marriage license does provide signature spaces for up to two witnesses.
How long does it take to get a marriage license in Florida?
Non-residents of Florida and residents who complete the official premarital course can receive their marriage license immediately. Residents who do not take the marriage course must wait 3 days before receiving their license.
What can you do when your marriage license expires?
If your Florida marriage license expires, you must apply for a new marriage license and repeat the application procedure. You will also be required to pay the fee again.
What if you or your spouse were previously married? Widowed or divorced?
There is no waiting period in the state of Florida for entering into a new marriage. However, documentation of any prior marriages is typically required. This may include official copies of divorce decrees or death certificates.
Can you get married by proxy?
No. Marriage by proxy is not permitted in Florida.
Is same-sex marriage legal in Florida?
Yes. Same-sex marriage is legal in Florida.
Can you marry your cousin?
Yes. It is legal to marry your first cousin in Florida.
Is Florida a common law marriage state?
No. Common law marriages are no longer allowed in Florida. However, common law marriages that occurred before January 1, 1968 are still recognized as valid.
How do you change your name after getting married?
You will need to present your marriage certificate to several government entities, including the Florida state or county government, the Florida Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV) to receive a new license, the Social Security Administration (SSA) to update your Social Security Card, the U.S. Department of State to receive a new passport, the Internal Revenue Service (IRS), and the U.S. Postal Service (USPS). Some government agencies may require a valid marriage certificate. You may also need to provide a marriage certificate to change your name on your insurance, bank accounts, utilities, and with other companies.