Charlotte County Marriage Licenses

Search for Charlotte County FL marriage license rules and requirements. You can learn how to get a marriage license, a marriage certificate, or marriage records from your local Marriage License Office, Clerk, Health Department, or Town or City Hall.


Charlotte County Marriage License 350 East Marion Avenue Punta Gorda FL 33950 941-637-2240


Charlotte County Clerk 350 East Marion Avenue Punta Gorda FL 33950 941-505-4716

Charlotte County Clerk 18500 Murdock Circle Port Charlotte FL 33948 941-743-1400

Charlotte County Health Department 410 Taylor Street Punta Gorda FL 33950 941-624-7200

Charlotte County Health Department 514 East Grace Street Punta Gorda FL 33950 941-639-1181

Charlotte County Health Department 6868 San Casa Drive Englewood FL 34224 941-474-3240

Florida State Health Department 18500 Murdock Circle Port Charlotte FL 33948 941-743-1400

Florida State Health Department 6868 San Casa Drive Englewood FL 34224 941-681-3750

Florida State Health Department 514 East Grace Street Punta Gorda FL 33950 941-639-1181

About Marriage Licenses



Marriage License Application Requirements and Process:

1. Apply where: County Clerk's Office

2. Minimum Age: 18, or 16 with parental consent or when the couple has or is expecting a child

3. Cost/fees: $93.50, or $61.00 for residents who complete the premarital course

4. Identification: driver's license, state-issued identification, passport, or military identification

5. Blood test / Physical Test: No

6. Residency Requirement: No

7. Witnesses: No

8. License Valid: 60 days

9. Waiting Period: No, for non-residents or for residents who complete an official premarital course; residents who do not complete the course must wait 3 days

10. Same-sex marriage: Yes

11. Marriage between cousins: Yes

12. Divorce/Widow: Yes, with official documents

13. Proxy Marriage: No

14. Common Law Marriage: No; but common law marriages prior to January 1, 1968 are still recognized as valid

Questions/Answers about Charlotte County Marriage Licenses

What do you have to do to get married?

To get married in Florida, both members of the couple must visit a County Clerk's Office in person to fill out a marriage license application. You will have to meet certain age requirements, provide photo identification, and pay a fee. Once you have submitted the application, you will either receive the license immediately if you are not a Florida resident or you are a resident and have completed the official premarital course. Florida residents who do not complete the course must wait 3 days. You must perform a marriage ceremony while the license is still valid. Your officiant will fill out the marriage license and submit it to the required government recording agency.

How do I get a marriage license in Charlotte County, Florida?

You will need to visit the County Clerk's Office to apply for a marriage license. Both members of the couple must meet the age requirement, present valid forms of identification, and pay a fee.

How much does it cost to get a marriage license in Florida?

Non-residents and residents who choose not to participate in the official premarital course must pay $93.50. Resident who complete the premarital course pay a discounted rate of $61.

How old do you have to be to get married in Charlotte County?

You must reach the minimum age of 16 to get married in Florida. Individuals who are between 16 and 18 must have parental or guardian consent to get married, or the couple must have or be expecting a child.