Alachua County Marriage Licenses

Search for Alachua County FL marriage license rules and requirements. You can learn how to get a marriage license, a marriage certificate, or marriage records from your local Marriage License Office, Clerk, Health Department, or Town or City Hall.


Alachua County Marriage License 21 East University Avenue Gainesville FL 32601 352-374-3623


Alachua City Hall 15100 Northwest 142 Terrace Alachua FL 32615 386-462-1231

Alachua County Clerk 201 East University Avenue Gainesville FL 32601 352-374-3636

Alachua County Health Department 14101 Northwest US Highway 441 Alachua FL 32615 386-418-5323

Florida State Health Department 1701 Southwest 16th Avenue Gainesville FL 32608 352-334-1400

Gainesville City Hall 200 East University Avenue Gainesville FL 32601 352-334-5000

Hawthorne City Hall 6700 Southeast 221st Street Hawthorne FL 32640 352-481-2432

High Springs City Hall 110 Northwest 1st Avenue High Springs FL 32643 386-454-1416

La Crosse City Hall # 121, 20613 N State Road La Crosse FL 32658 386-462-2784

Micanopy Town Hall 706 Northeast Cholokka Boulevard Micanopy FL 32667 352-466-3122

Newberry City Clerk 25440 West Newberry Road Newberry FL 32669 352-472-2446

Newberry City Hall 25440 West Newberry Road Newberry FL 32669 352-472-3259

Waldo City Hall 14655 Kennard Street Waldo FL 32694 352-468-1001

About Marriage Licenses



Marriage License Application Requirements and Process:

1. Apply where: County Clerk's Office

2. Minimum Age: 18, or 16 with parental consent or when the couple has or is expecting a child

3. Cost/fees: $93.50, or $61.00 for residents who complete the premarital course

4. Identification: driver's license, state-issued identification, passport, or military identification

5. Blood test / Physical Test: No

6. Residency Requirement: No

7. Witnesses: No

8. License Valid: 60 days

9. Waiting Period: No, for non-residents or for residents who complete an official premarital course; residents who do not complete the course must wait 3 days

10. Same-sex marriage: Yes

11. Marriage between cousins: Yes

12. Divorce/Widow: Yes, with official documents

13. Proxy Marriage: No

14. Common Law Marriage: No; but common law marriages prior to January 1, 1968 are still recognized as valid

Questions/Answers about Alachua County Marriage Licenses

What do you have to do to get married?

To get married in Florida, both members of the couple must visit a County Clerk's Office in person to fill out a marriage license application. You will have to meet certain age requirements, provide photo identification, and pay a fee. Once you have submitted the application, you will either receive the license immediately if you are not a Florida resident or you are a resident and have completed the official premarital course. Florida residents who do not complete the course must wait 3 days. You must perform a marriage ceremony while the license is still valid. Your officiant will fill out the marriage license and submit it to the required government recording agency.

How do I get a marriage license in Alachua County, Florida?

You will need to visit the County Clerk's Office to apply for a marriage license. Both members of the couple must meet the age requirement, present valid forms of identification, and pay a fee.

How much does it cost to get a marriage license in Florida?

Non-residents and residents who choose not to participate in the official premarital course must pay $93.50. Resident who complete the premarital course pay a discounted rate of $61.

How old do you have to be to get married in Alachua County?

You must reach the minimum age of 16 to get married in Florida. Individuals who are between 16 and 18 must have parental or guardian consent to get married, or the couple must have or be expecting a child.