Search for Monroe County, FL marriage license rules and requirements. You can learn how to get a marriage license, a marriage certificate, or marriage records from your local Marriage License Office, Clerk, Health Department, or Town or City Hall.
Monroe County Marriage License 530 Whitehead Street Key West FL 33040 305-294-4641
Florida State Health Department 50 High Point Road Tavernier FL 33070 305-853-7400
Florida State Health Department 3134 Northside Dr Key West FL 33040 305-292-6885
Key Colony Beach City Hall 600 West Ocean Drive Key Colony Beach FL 33051 305-289-1212
Key West City Clerk 3126 Flagler Avenue Key West FL 33040 305-809-3831
Layton City Hall 68260 Overseas Highway Layton FL 33001 305-664-4667
Monroe County Clerk PO Box 1980 Key West FL 33041 305-295-3130
Monroe County Clerk 3117 Overseas Highway Marathon FL 33050 305-289-6028
Monroe County Clerk 500 Whitehead Street Key West FL 33040 305-294-4641
Monroe County Health Department 50 High Point Road Tavernier FL 33070 305-853-3240
Monroe County Health Department 105 Olivia Street Key West FL 33040 305-293-1741
1. Apply where: County Clerk's Office
2. Minimum Age: 18, or 16 with parental consent or when the couple has or is expecting a child
3. Cost/fees: $93.50, or $61.00 for residents who complete the premarital course
4. Identification: driver's license, state-issued identification, passport, or military identification
5. Blood test / Physical Test: No
6. Residency Requirement: No
7. Witnesses: No
8. License Valid: 60 days
9. Waiting Period: No, for non-residents or for residents who complete an official premarital course; residents who do not complete the course must wait 3 days
10. Same-sex marriage: Yes
11. Marriage between cousins: Yes
12. Divorce/Widow: Yes, with official documents
13. Proxy Marriage: No
14. Common Law Marriage: No; but common law marriages prior to January 1, 1968 are still recognized as valid
What do you have to do to get married?
To get married in Florida, both members of the couple must visit a County Clerk's Office in person to fill out a marriage license application. You will have to meet certain age requirements, provide photo identification, and pay a fee. Once you have submitted the application, you will either receive the license immediately if you are not a Florida resident or you are a resident and have completed the official premarital course. Florida residents who do not complete the course must wait 3 days. You must perform a marriage ceremony while the license is still valid. Your officiant will fill out the marriage license and submit it to the required government recording agency.
How do I get a marriage license in Monroe County, Florida?
You will need to visit the County Clerk's Office to apply for a marriage license. Both members of the couple must meet the age requirement, present valid forms of identification, and pay a fee.
How much does it cost to get a marriage license in Florida?
Non-residents and residents who choose not to participate in the official premarital course must pay $93.50. Resident who complete the premarital course pay a discounted rate of $61.
How old do you have to be to get married in Monroe County?
You must reach the minimum age of 16 to get married in Florida. Individuals who are between 16 and 18 must have parental or guardian consent to get married, or the couple must have or be expecting a child.