Search for Lee County, FL marriage license rules and requirements. You can learn how to get a marriage license, a marriage certificate, or marriage records from your local Marriage License Office, Clerk, Health Department, or Town or City Hall.
Lee County Marriage License Lee County Administration Building, 2115 Second Street, 2Nd Floor Fort Myers FL 33902 239-335-2283
Bonita Springs City Hall 9101 Bonita Beach Road Southeast Bonita Springs FL 34135 239-949-6262
Cape Coral City Hall 1015 Cultural Park Boulevard Cape Coral FL 33990 239-574-0401
Florida State Health Department 391 Lee Boulevard Lehigh Acres FL 33936 239-332-9583
Fort Myers Beach Town Hall 2523 Estero Boulevard Fort Myers Beach FL 33931 239-765-7700
Fort Myers City Hall 2200 Second Street Fort Myers FL 33901 239-332-6700
Forth Myers Health Department 9800 Healthpark Circle Fort Myers Beach FL 33908 239-433-6723
Lee County Clerk of Court 1700 Monroe Street Fort Myers FL 33901 239-533-5000
Lee County Health Department 5624 8th Street West Lehigh Acres FL 33971 239-368-5535
Lee County Health Department 83 Pondella Road North Fort Myers FL 33903 239-656-2561
Lee County Health Department 3920 Michigan Avenue Fort Myers FL 33916 239-332-9501
Lee County Health Department 1039 Southeast 9th Place Cape Coral FL 33990 239-458-7025
Sanibel City Hall 800 Dunlop Road Sanibel FL 33957 239-472-4135
1. Apply where: County Clerk's Office
2. Minimum Age: 18, or 16 with parental consent or when the couple has or is expecting a child
3. Cost/fees: $93.50, or $61.00 for residents who complete the premarital course
4. Identification: driver's license, state-issued identification, passport, or military identification
5. Blood test / Physical Test: No
6. Residency Requirement: No
7. Witnesses: No
8. License Valid: 60 days
9. Waiting Period: No, for non-residents or for residents who complete an official premarital course; residents who do not complete the course must wait 3 days
10. Same-sex marriage: Yes
11. Marriage between cousins: Yes
12. Divorce/Widow: Yes, with official documents
13. Proxy Marriage: No
14. Common Law Marriage: No; but common law marriages prior to January 1, 1968 are still recognized as valid
What do you have to do to get married?
To get married in Florida, both members of the couple must visit a County Clerk's Office in person to fill out a marriage license application. You will have to meet certain age requirements, provide photo identification, and pay a fee. Once you have submitted the application, you will either receive the license immediately if you are not a Florida resident or you are a resident and have completed the official premarital course. Florida residents who do not complete the course must wait 3 days. You must perform a marriage ceremony while the license is still valid. Your officiant will fill out the marriage license and submit it to the required government recording agency.
How do I get a marriage license in Lee County, Florida?
You will need to visit the County Clerk's Office to apply for a marriage license. Both members of the couple must meet the age requirement, present valid forms of identification, and pay a fee.
How much does it cost to get a marriage license in Florida?
Non-residents and residents who choose not to participate in the official premarital course must pay $93.50. Resident who complete the premarital course pay a discounted rate of $61.
How old do you have to be to get married in Lee County?
You must reach the minimum age of 16 to get married in Florida. Individuals who are between 16 and 18 must have parental or guardian consent to get married, or the couple must have or be expecting a child.