Search for Polk County FL marriage license rules and requirements. You can learn how to get a marriage license, a marriage certificate, or marriage records from your local Marriage License Office, Clerk, Health Department, or Town or City Hall.
Auburndale City Hall 1 Bobby Green Pl Auburndale FL 33823 863-965-5530
Bartow City Hall 450 North Wilson Avenue Bartow FL 33830 863-534-0100
Bartow Health Department 1255 Brice Boulevard Bartow FL 33830 863-519-8233
Davenport City Hall 1 South Allapaha Avenue Davenport FL 33837 863-419-3300
Dundee Town Clerk 105 Center Street Dundee FL 33838 863-419-3100
Dundee Town Hall 105 Center Street Dundee FL 33838 863-419-3100
Eagle Lake City Hall 75 North 7th Street Eagle Lake FL 33839 863-293-4141
Florida State Health Department 1700 Baker Avenue Haines FL 33844 863-419-3252
Fort Meade City Hall 8 West Broadway Street Fort Meade FL 33841 863-285-1100
Frostproof City Clerk 111 West 1st Street Frostproof FL 33843 863-635-7854
Frostproof City Hall 111 West 1st Street Frostproof FL 33843 863-635-7855
Haines City City Hall 502 East Hinson Avenue Haines FL 33844 863-421-3650
Haines City Clerk 620 East Main Street Haines FL 33844 863-421-3650
Haines City Town Hall 502 East Hinson Avenue Haines FL 33844 863-421-3600
Highland Park Village Clerk 1920 South Highland Park Drive Lake Wales FL 33898 863-676-2760
Hillcrest Heights Town Hall 151 North Scenic Highway Babson Park FL 33827 863-638-2732
Lake Alfred City Clerk 155 East Pomelo Street Lake Alfred FL 33850 863-291-5270
Lake Alfred City Hall 120 East Pomelo Street Lake Alfred FL 33850 863-291-5747
Lake Hamilton Town Hall 100 Smith Avenue Dundee FL 33838 863-439-1910
Lake Wales City Hall 201 West Central Avenue Lake Wales FL 33853 863-678-4182
Lakeland City Hall 228 South Massachusetts Avenue Lakeland FL 33801 863-834-6000
Lakeland Health Department 1291 Ariana Street Lakeland FL 33803 863-284-3075
Polk City City Hall 123 Broadway Boulevard Southeast Polk City FL 33868 863-984-1375
Polk City Town Hall 203 Lakeshore Drive Polk City FL 33868 863-984-2334
Polk County Clerk 3425 Lake Alfred Road Winter Haven FL 33881 863-401-2400
1. Apply where: County Clerk's Office
2. Minimum Age: 18, or 16 with parental consent or when the couple has or is expecting a child
3. Cost/fees: $93.50, or $61.00 for residents who complete the premarital course
4. Identification: driver's license, state-issued identification, passport, or military identification
5. Blood test / Physical Test: No
6. Residency Requirement: No
7. Witnesses: No
8. License Valid: 60 days
9. Waiting Period: No, for non-residents or for residents who complete an official premarital course; residents who do not complete the course must wait 3 days
10. Same-sex marriage: Yes
11. Marriage between cousins: Yes
12. Divorce/Widow: Yes, with official documents
13. Proxy Marriage: No
14. Common Law Marriage: No; but common law marriages prior to January 1, 1968 are still recognized as valid
What do you have to do to get married?
To get married in Florida, both members of the couple must visit a County Clerk's Office in person to fill out a marriage license application. You will have to meet certain age requirements, provide photo identification, and pay a fee. Once you have submitted the application, you will either receive the license immediately if you are not a Florida resident or you are a resident and have completed the official premarital course. Florida residents who do not complete the course must wait 3 days. You must perform a marriage ceremony while the license is still valid. Your officiant will fill out the marriage license and submit it to the required government recording agency.
How do I get a marriage license in Polk County, Florida?
You will need to visit the County Clerk's Office to apply for a marriage license. Both members of the couple must meet the age requirement, present valid forms of identification, and pay a fee.
How much does it cost to get a marriage license in Florida?
Non-residents and residents who choose not to participate in the official premarital course must pay $93.50. Resident who complete the premarital course pay a discounted rate of $61.
How old do you have to be to get married in Polk County?
You must reach the minimum age of 16 to get married in Florida. Individuals who are between 16 and 18 must have parental or guardian consent to get married, or the couple must have or be expecting a child.