Search for Sarasota County FL marriage license rules and requirements. You can learn how to get a marriage license, a marriage certificate, or marriage records from your local Marriage License Office, Clerk, Health Department, or Town or City Hall.
Sarasota County Marriage License 2000 Main Street Sarasota FL 34237 941-362-4066
Florida State Health Department 4000 South Tamiami Trail Sarasota FL 34231 941-861-3528
Florida State Health Department 7820 South Tamiami Trail Venice FL 34293 941-861-3300
Longboat Key Town Hall 501 Bay Isles Road Longboat Key FL 34228 941-316-1999
Longboat Town Clerk 501 Bay Isles Road Longboat Key FL 34228 941-383-3721
North Port City Hall 4970 City Hall Boulevard North Port FL 34286 941-429-7000
Sarasota City Hall 1565 1st Street Sarasota FL 34236 941-365-2200
Sarasota County Clerk of the Circuit Court and County Comptroller 2000 Main Street Sarasota FL 34237 941-861-7400
Sarasota County Health Department 6950 Outreach Way North Port FL 34287 941-861-3820
Sarasota County Health Department 1750 17th Street Sarasota FL 34234 941-861-1400
Sarasota County Health Department 7820 South Tamiami Trail Venice FL 34293 941-861-3300
Sarasota Health Department 2200 Ringling Boulevard Sarasota FL 34237 941-861-2900
Sarasota Town Hall 4209 South Tamiami Trail Sarasota FL 34231 941-921-5849
Venice City Hall 401 West Venice Avenue Venice FL 34285 941-486-2626
Venice Clerk 4000 South Tamiami Trail Venice FL 34293 941-492-3025
1. Apply where: County Clerk's Office
2. Minimum Age: 18, or 16 with parental consent or when the couple has or is expecting a child
3. Cost/fees: $93.50, or $61.00 for residents who complete the premarital course
4. Identification: driver's license, state-issued identification, passport, or military identification
5. Blood test / Physical Test: No
6. Residency Requirement: No
7. Witnesses: No
8. License Valid: 60 days
9. Waiting Period: No, for non-residents or for residents who complete an official premarital course; residents who do not complete the course must wait 3 days
10. Same-sex marriage: Yes
11. Marriage between cousins: Yes
12. Divorce/Widow: Yes, with official documents
13. Proxy Marriage: No
14. Common Law Marriage: No; but common law marriages prior to January 1, 1968 are still recognized as valid
What do you have to do to get married?
To get married in Florida, both members of the couple must visit a County Clerk's Office in person to fill out a marriage license application. You will have to meet certain age requirements, provide photo identification, and pay a fee. Once you have submitted the application, you will either receive the license immediately if you are not a Florida resident or you are a resident and have completed the official premarital course. Florida residents who do not complete the course must wait 3 days. You must perform a marriage ceremony while the license is still valid. Your officiant will fill out the marriage license and submit it to the required government recording agency.
How do I get a marriage license in Sarasota County, Florida?
You will need to visit the County Clerk's Office to apply for a marriage license. Both members of the couple must meet the age requirement, present valid forms of identification, and pay a fee.
How much does it cost to get a marriage license in Florida?
Non-residents and residents who choose not to participate in the official premarital course must pay $93.50. Resident who complete the premarital course pay a discounted rate of $61.
How old do you have to be to get married in Sarasota County?
You must reach the minimum age of 16 to get married in Florida. Individuals who are between 16 and 18 must have parental or guardian consent to get married, or the couple must have or be expecting a child.