Search for Alabama marriage license rules and requirements. You can learn how to get a marriage license, a marriage certificate, or marriage records from your local Marriage License Office, Clerk, Health Department, or Town or City Hall.
1. Apply where: Probate Judge or County Clerk's Office
2. Minimum age: 18, or 16 with parental or guardian consent
3. Cost/fees: $40-$100; varies by county
4. Identification: driver's license, state-issued identification, passport, certified birth certificate, military identification, certified school record
5. Blood test / Physical Test: No
6. Residency Requirement: No
7. Witnesses: No
8. License Valid: 30 days
9. Waiting Period: No
10. Same-sex marriage: Yes
11. Marriage between cousins: Yes
12. Divorce/Widow: 60 days with divorce certificate/death certificate
13. Proxy Marriage: No
14. Common Law Marriage: No
What do you have to do to get married?
To get married in Alabama, both members of the couple must visit a county probate judge or County Clerk's Office in person to fill out a marriage license application. You will have to meet certain age requirements, provide photo identification, and pay a fee. Once you have received the marriage license, you must perform a marriage ceremony while the license is still valid. Your officiant will fill out the marriage license and forward it to the county authority. Make sure there are no errors before sending a completed marriage license to the state. The probate court will furnish a certified marriage certificate as proof of marriage.
How do I get a marriage license in Alabama?
You will need to visit the county probate or Clerk's Office to apply for a marriage license. Both members of the couple must be at least 16 years of age, pay $40-$100, depending on the county, and present a valid form of ID.
How much does it cost to get a marriage license in Alabama?
A marriage license can cost anywhere between $40 and $100, depending on the county. Note that you are not required to get married in the county where you apply for your marriage license.
How old do you have to be to get married in Alabama?
You must reach the minimum age of 16 years of age to get married in Alabama. Individuals who are between 16 and 18 must have parental or guardian consent to get married.
Can you get married under 18 in Alabama?
Yes. Individuals who are between 16 and 18 can get married if they provide copies of their birth certificates and obtain parental or guardian consent. Both sets of parents or legal guardians must be present and provide photo identification proving their relation. If both parents are not present, the couple must provide sufficient evidence why a parent is unable to attend.
Do you need a blood test to get married?
No. There is no legal requirement for a premarital blood test or physical exam in order to get married in Alabama.
Who can legally marry you in Alabama?
There are no laws regulating who can legally marry, or solemnize a wedding ceremony. Wedding officiants must be at least 18 years of age. Officiants are typically judges, government employees, or religious authorities.
Do you need a witness to get married?
No. The state of Alabama does not require witnesses for a marriage.
How long does it take to get a marriage license in Alabama?
There is no waiting period to get a marriage license. However, you must get married before your marriage license expires. The marriage license is valid for 30 days.
What do you do when your marriage license expires?
If your Alabama marriage license expires, you must apply for a new marriage license and repeat the application procedure. You will also be required to pay the fee again.
What if you or your spouse were previously married? Widowed or divorced?
In Alabama, you must wait at least 60 days and provide documentation of divorce, and/or a death certificate, before you can legally remarry. The only exception is if you are remarrying your former spouse.
Can you get married by proxy?
No. Marriage by proxy is not permitted in Alabama.
Is same-sex marriage legal in Alabama?
Yes. Same-sex marriage is permitted in Alabama. However, some counties refuse to award marriage licenses to same-sex couples.
Can you marry your cousin?
Yes. It is legal to marry your first cousin in Alabama.
Is Alabama a common law marriage state?
No. Common law marriages are no longer allowed in Alabama.
How do you change your name after getting married?
You will need to present your marriage certificate to several government entities, including the Alabama state or county government, the Alabama Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV) to receive a new license, the Social Security Administration (SSA) to update your Social Security Card, the U.S. Department of State to receive a new passport, the Internal Revenue Service (IRS), and the U.S. Postal Service (USPS). Some government agencies may require a valid marriage certificate. You may also need to provide a marriage certificate to change your name on your insurance, bank accounts, utilities, and with other companies.