Search for Geneva County, AL marriage license rules and requirements. You can learn how to get a marriage license, a marriage certificate, or marriage records from your local Marriage License Office, Clerk, Health Department, or Town or City Hall.
Geneva County Marriage License Po Box 430 Geneva AL 36340 334-684-5640
Geneva City Hall 517 South Commerce Street Geneva AL 36340 334-684-2485
Geneva County Clerk-Circuit 200 North Commerce Street Geneva AL 36340 334-684-5620
Geneva County Health Department 606 South Academy Street Geneva AL 36340 334-684-2256
Geneva County Health Department 300 County Road 41 Hartford AL 36344 334-684-2256
Hartford Clerk 203 West Main Street Hartford AL 36344 334-588-6715
Samson City Hall 104 East Main Street Samson AL 36477 334-898-7541
Slocomb City Hall 263 E Lawrence Harris Hwy Slocomb AL 36375 334-886-2334
Slocomb Clerk 255 E Lawrence Harris Hwy Slocomb AL 36375 334-886-2955
1. Apply where: Probate Judge or County Clerk's Office
2. Minimum age: 18, or 16 with parental or guardian consent
3. Cost/fees: $40-$100; varies by county
4. Identification: driver's license, state-issued identification, passport, certified birth certificate, military identification, certified school record
5. Blood test / Physical Test: No
6. Residency Requirement: No
7. Witnesses: No
8. License Valid: 30 days
9. Waiting Period: No
10. Same-sex marriage: Yes
11. Marriage between cousins: Yes
12. Divorce/Widow: 60 days with divorce certificate/death certificate
13. Proxy Marriage: No
14. Common Law Marriage: No
What do you have to do to get married?
To get married in Alabama, both members of the couple must visit a county probate judge or County Clerk's Office in person to fill out a marriage license application. You will have to meet certain age requirements, provide photo identification, and pay a fee. Once you have received the marriage license, you must perform a marriage ceremony while the license is still valid. Your officiant will fill out the marriage license and forward it to the county authority. Make sure there are no errors before sending a completed marriage license to the state. The probate court will furnish a certified marriage certificate as proof of marriage.
How do I get a marriage license in Geneva County, Alabama?
You will need to visit the county probate or Clerk's Office to apply for a marriage license. Both members of the couple must be at least 16 years of age, pay $40-$100, depending on the county, and present a valid form of ID.
How much does it cost to get a marriage license in Alabama?
A marriage license can cost anywhere between $40 and $100, depending on the county. Note that you are not required to get married in the county where you apply for your marriage license.
How old do you have to be to get married in Geneva County?
You must reach the minimum age of 16 years of age to get married in Alabama. Individuals who are between 16 and 18 must have parental or guardian consent to get married.