Search for Etowah County, AL marriage license rules and requirements. You can learn how to get a marriage license, a marriage certificate, or marriage records from your local Marriage License Office, Clerk, Health Department, or Town or City Hall.
Altoona City Hall 2844 Main Street Altoona AL 35952 205-589-2311
Attalla City Clerk 612 4th Street Northwest Attalla AL 35954 256-538-9986
Attalla City Hall 620 1st Street Northeast Attalla AL 35954 256-538-7522
Etowah County Clerk 801 Forrest Avenue Gadsden AL 35901 256-549-2181
Etowah County Health Department 709 East Broad Street Gadsden AL 35903 256-547-6311
Gadsden City Hall 90 Broad Street Gadsden AL 35901 256-549-4500
Hokes Bluff City Hall 3301 Alford Bend Road Hokes Bluff AL 35903 256-492-2414
Rainbow City Clerk 3700 Rainbow Drive Gadsden AL 35906 256-413-1217
Sardis City Town Hall 1335 Sardis Drive Boaz AL 35956 256-593-6406
Susan Moore Town Hall 39989 State Highway 75 Altoona AL 35952 205-466-7400
Walnut Grove Town Hall 4012 Gadsden Blountsville Road Altoona AL 35952 205-589-4555
1. Apply where: Probate Judge or County Clerk's Office
2. Minimum age: 18, or 16 with parental or guardian consent
3. Cost/fees: $40-$100; varies by county
4. Identification: driver's license, state-issued identification, passport, certified birth certificate, military identification, certified school record
5. Blood test / Physical Test: No
6. Residency Requirement: No
7. Witnesses: No
8. License Valid: 30 days
9. Waiting Period: No
10. Same-sex marriage: Yes
11. Marriage between cousins: Yes
12. Divorce/Widow: 60 days with divorce certificate/death certificate
13. Proxy Marriage: No
14. Common Law Marriage: No
What do you have to do to get married?
To get married in Alabama, both members of the couple must visit a county probate judge or County Clerk's Office in person to fill out a marriage license application. You will have to meet certain age requirements, provide photo identification, and pay a fee. Once you have received the marriage license, you must perform a marriage ceremony while the license is still valid. Your officiant will fill out the marriage license and forward it to the county authority. Make sure there are no errors before sending a completed marriage license to the state. The probate court will furnish a certified marriage certificate as proof of marriage.
How do I get a marriage license in Etowah County, Alabama?
You will need to visit the county probate or Clerk's Office to apply for a marriage license. Both members of the couple must be at least 16 years of age, pay $40-$100, depending on the county, and present a valid form of ID.
How much does it cost to get a marriage license in Alabama?
A marriage license can cost anywhere between $40 and $100, depending on the county. Note that you are not required to get married in the county where you apply for your marriage license.
How old do you have to be to get married in Etowah County?
You must reach the minimum age of 16 years of age to get married in Alabama. Individuals who are between 16 and 18 must have parental or guardian consent to get married.