Search for Madison County, AL marriage license rules and requirements. You can learn how to get a marriage license, a marriage certificate, or marriage records from your local Marriage License Office, Clerk, Health Department, or Town or City Hall.
Madison County Marriage License 100 North Side Square Huntsville AL 35801 256-532-3330
Gurley City Hall 235 Walker Street Gurley AL 35748 256-776-3313
Huntsville City Hall 308 Fountain Circle Southwest Huntsville AL 35801 256-428-7060
Huntsville Clerk 308 Fountain Circle Southwest Huntsville AL 35801 256-427-5090
Huntsville Health Department 2900 Fairbanks Street Northwest Huntsville AL 35816 256-518-2356
Madison Clerk 100 Hughes Road Madison AL 35758 256-772-5600
Madison County Clerk 100 Northside Square Huntsville AL 35801 256-532-3390
Madison County Health Department 304 Eustis Avenue Southeast Huntsville AL 35801 256-539-3711
Madison County Health Department 301 Max Luther Drive Northwest Huntsville AL 35811 256-539-3711
New Hope City Hall 5496 Main Drive New Hope AL 35760 256-723-2616
Owens Cross Roads Town Hall 9032 U.s. 431 Owens Cross Roads AL 35763 256-725-4163
1. Apply where: Probate Judge or County Clerk's Office
2. Minimum age: 18, or 16 with parental or guardian consent
3. Cost/fees: $40-$100; varies by county
4. Identification: driver's license, state-issued identification, passport, certified birth certificate, military identification, certified school record
5. Blood test / Physical Test: No
6. Residency Requirement: No
7. Witnesses: No
8. License Valid: 30 days
9. Waiting Period: No
10. Same-sex marriage: Yes
11. Marriage between cousins: Yes
12. Divorce/Widow: 60 days with divorce certificate/death certificate
13. Proxy Marriage: No
14. Common Law Marriage: No
What do you have to do to get married?
To get married in Alabama, both members of the couple must visit a county probate judge or County Clerk's Office in person to fill out a marriage license application. You will have to meet certain age requirements, provide photo identification, and pay a fee. Once you have received the marriage license, you must perform a marriage ceremony while the license is still valid. Your officiant will fill out the marriage license and forward it to the county authority. Make sure there are no errors before sending a completed marriage license to the state. The probate court will furnish a certified marriage certificate as proof of marriage.
How do I get a marriage license in Madison County, Alabama?
You will need to visit the county probate or Clerk's Office to apply for a marriage license. Both members of the couple must be at least 16 years of age, pay $40-$100, depending on the county, and present a valid form of ID.
How much does it cost to get a marriage license in Alabama?
A marriage license can cost anywhere between $40 and $100, depending on the county. Note that you are not required to get married in the county where you apply for your marriage license.
How old do you have to be to get married in Madison County?
You must reach the minimum age of 16 years of age to get married in Alabama. Individuals who are between 16 and 18 must have parental or guardian consent to get married.