Search for Jefferson County AL marriage license rules and requirements. You can learn how to get a marriage license, a marriage certificate, or marriage records from your local Marriage License Office, Clerk, Health Department, or Town or City Hall.
Adamsville City Hall 4828 Main Street Adamsville AL 35005 205-674-5671
Alabama State Health Department 11 West Oxmoor Road Birmingham AL 35209 205-916-0400
Bessemer City Hall 1800 3rd Avenue North Bessemer AL 35020 205-424-4060
Bessemer Clerk 23 15th Street North Bessemer AL 35020 205-426-8602
Birmingham City Hall 710 20th Street North Birmingham AL 35203 205-254-2290
Brighton City Clerk 3700 Main Street Brighton AL 35020 205-425-8934
Center Point City Clerk 2209 Center Point Parkway Center Point AL 35215 205-854-4460
County Line Town Hall 2843 County Line Rd Trafford AL 35172 205-590-1649
Fairfield City Hall 4701 Gary Avenue Fairfield AL 35064 205-788-2492
Fairfield Clerk 4701 Gary Avenue Fairfield AL 35064 205-788-2492
Fultondale City Hall 1210 Old Walker Chapel Road Fultondale AL 35068 205-841-4481
Gardendale City Hall 970 Main Street Gardendale AL 35071 205-631-8789
Gardendale Clerk 970 Main Street Gardendale AL 35071 205-631-8789
Graysville City Hall 246 South Main Street Graysville AL 35073 205-674-5643
Helena City Hall 816 Highway 52 Helena AL 35080 205-663-2161
Homewood Clerk 1833 29th Avenue South Homewood AL 35209 205-877-8646
Hueytown City Clerk 1318 Hueytown Road Hueytown AL 35023 205-491-7010
Hueytown Clerk 1318 Hueytown Road Hueytown AL 35023 205-491-7010
Irondale City Clerk 101 20th Street South Irondale AL 35210 205-956-9200
Jefferson - Bessemer Division Clerk 1851 2nd Avenue North Bessemer AL 35020 205-497-8510
Jefferson - Birmingham Division Clerk 716 Richard Arrington Junior Boulevard North Birmingham AL 35203 205-325-5355
Jefferson County Health Department 2201 Arlington Avenue Bessemer AL 35020 205-930-1064
Jefferson County Health Department 13695 Lock 17 Road Adger AL 35006 205-497-3329
Jefferson County Health Department 586 Morris Majestic Road Morris AL 35116 205-933-4242
Jefferson County Health Department 10005 Corner School Road Warrior AL 35180 205-379-3200
1. Apply where: Probate Judge or County Clerk's Office
2. Minimum age: 18, or 16 with parental or guardian consent
3. Cost/fees: $40-$100; varies by county
4. Identification: driver's license, state-issued identification, passport, certified birth certificate, military identification, certified school record
5. Blood test / Physical Test: No
6. Residency Requirement: No
7. Witnesses: No
8. License Valid: 30 days
9. Waiting Period: No
10. Same-sex marriage: Yes
11. Marriage between cousins: Yes
12. Divorce/Widow: 60 days with divorce certificate/death certificate
13. Proxy Marriage: No
14. Common Law Marriage: No
What do you have to do to get married?
To get married in Alabama, both members of the couple must visit a county probate judge or County Clerk's Office in person to fill out a marriage license application. You will have to meet certain age requirements, provide photo identification, and pay a fee. Once you have received the marriage license, you must perform a marriage ceremony while the license is still valid. Your officiant will fill out the marriage license and forward it to the county authority. Make sure there are no errors before sending a completed marriage license to the state. The probate court will furnish a certified marriage certificate as proof of marriage.
How do I get a marriage license in Jefferson County, Alabama?
You will need to visit the county probate or Clerk's Office to apply for a marriage license. Both members of the couple must be at least 16 years of age, pay $40-$100, depending on the county, and present a valid form of ID.
How much does it cost to get a marriage license in Alabama?
A marriage license can cost anywhere between $40 and $100, depending on the county. Note that you are not required to get married in the county where you apply for your marriage license.
How old do you have to be to get married in Jefferson County?
You must reach the minimum age of 16 years of age to get married in Alabama. Individuals who are between 16 and 18 must have parental or guardian consent to get married.