Houston County Marriage Licenses

Search for Houston County AL marriage license rules and requirements. You can learn how to get a marriage license, a marriage certificate, or marriage records from your local Marriage License Office, Clerk, Health Department, or Town or City Hall.


Alabama Health Department Highway 95 Columbia AL 36319 334-696-8081


Alabama Health Department 444 North Oates Street Dothan AL 36303 334-793-1565

Columbia City Hall 203 South Washington Street Columbia AL 36319 334-696-4417

Columbia Town Clerk 203 South Washington Street Columbia AL 36319 334-696-4417

Cowarts City Hall 800 Jester Street Cowarts AL 36321 334-792-8920

Dothan City Clerk 126 North Saint Andrews Street Dothan AL 36303 334-615-3160

Gordon City Clerk 692 Tifton Road Gordon AL 36343 334-522-3113

Gordon City Town Hall 692 Tifton Road Gordon AL 36343 334-522-3113

Houston County Clerk 462 North Oates Street Dothan AL 36303 334-677-4792

Rehobeth Town Hall 5449 County Road 203 Rehobeth AL 36301 334-671-5829

Taylor Town Hall 1469 County Road 59 Taylor AL 36301 334-677-5079

Webb Town Hall 315 Webb To Kinsey Road Webb AL 36376 334-792-0386

About Marriage Licenses



Marriage License Application Requirements and Process:

1. Apply where: Probate Judge or County Clerk's Office

2. Minimum age: 18, or 16 with parental or guardian consent

3. Cost/fees: $40-$100; varies by county

4. Identification: driver's license, state-issued identification, passport, certified birth certificate, military identification, certified school record

5. Blood test / Physical Test: No

6. Residency Requirement: No

7. Witnesses: No

8. License Valid: 30 days

9. Waiting Period: No

10. Same-sex marriage: Yes

11. Marriage between cousins: Yes

12. Divorce/Widow: 60 days with divorce certificate/death certificate

13. Proxy Marriage: No

14. Common Law Marriage: No

Questions/Answers about Houston County Marriage Licenses

What do you have to do to get married?

To get married in Alabama, both members of the couple must visit a county probate judge or County Clerk's Office in person to fill out a marriage license application. You will have to meet certain age requirements, provide photo identification, and pay a fee. Once you have received the marriage license, you must perform a marriage ceremony while the license is still valid. Your officiant will fill out the marriage license and forward it to the county authority. Make sure there are no errors before sending a completed marriage license to the state. The probate court will furnish a certified marriage certificate as proof of marriage.

How do I get a marriage license in Houston County, Alabama?

You will need to visit the county probate or Clerk's Office to apply for a marriage license. Both members of the couple must be at least 16 years of age, pay $40-$100, depending on the county, and present a valid form of ID.

How much does it cost to get a marriage license in Alabama?

A marriage license can cost anywhere between $40 and $100, depending on the county. Note that you are not required to get married in the county where you apply for your marriage license.

How old do you have to be to get married in Houston County?

You must reach the minimum age of 16 years of age to get married in Alabama. Individuals who are between 16 and 18 must have parental or guardian consent to get married.