Lamar County Marriage Licenses

Search for Lamar County AL marriage license rules and requirements. You can learn how to get a marriage license, a marriage certificate, or marriage records from your local Marriage License Office, Clerk, Health Department, or Town or City Hall.


Lamar County Marriage License Po Box 338 Vernon AL 35592 205-695-9119


Detroit Town Hall 65347 Alabama 17 Detroit AL 35552 205-273-4294

Kennedy Town Hall 17885 Alabama 96 Kennedy AL 35574 205-596-4046

Lamar Circuit Clerk 330 1st Street Northeast Vernon AL 35592 205-695-7193

Lamar County Health Department 300 Springfield Road Vernon AL 35592 205-695-9195

Sulligent City Hall 5795 Highway 278 Northeast Sulligent AL 35586 205-698-9111

Sulligent Clerk 5795 Highway 278 Northeast Sulligent AL 35586 205-698-8532

Vernon City Hall 44425 Alabama 17 Vernon AL 35592 205-695-7718

About Marriage Licenses



Marriage License Application Requirements and Process:

1. Apply where: Probate Judge or County Clerk's Office

2. Minimum age: 18, or 16 with parental or guardian consent

3. Cost/fees: $40-$100; varies by county

4. Identification: driver's license, state-issued identification, passport, certified birth certificate, military identification, certified school record

5. Blood test / Physical Test: No

6. Residency Requirement: No

7. Witnesses: No

8. License Valid: 30 days

9. Waiting Period: No

10. Same-sex marriage: Yes

11. Marriage between cousins: Yes

12. Divorce/Widow: 60 days with divorce certificate/death certificate

13. Proxy Marriage: No

14. Common Law Marriage: No

Questions/Answers about Lamar County Marriage Licenses

What do you have to do to get married?

To get married in Alabama, both members of the couple must visit a county probate judge or County Clerk's Office in person to fill out a marriage license application. You will have to meet certain age requirements, provide photo identification, and pay a fee. Once you have received the marriage license, you must perform a marriage ceremony while the license is still valid. Your officiant will fill out the marriage license and forward it to the county authority. Make sure there are no errors before sending a completed marriage license to the state. The probate court will furnish a certified marriage certificate as proof of marriage.

How do I get a marriage license in Lamar County, Alabama?

You will need to visit the county probate or Clerk's Office to apply for a marriage license. Both members of the couple must be at least 16 years of age, pay $40-$100, depending on the county, and present a valid form of ID.

How much does it cost to get a marriage license in Alabama?

A marriage license can cost anywhere between $40 and $100, depending on the county. Note that you are not required to get married in the county where you apply for your marriage license.

How old do you have to be to get married in Lamar County?

You must reach the minimum age of 16 years of age to get married in Alabama. Individuals who are between 16 and 18 must have parental or guardian consent to get married.