Franklin County Marriage Licenses

Search for Franklin County AL marriage license rules and requirements. You can learn how to get a marriage license, a marriage certificate, or marriage records from your local Marriage License Office, Clerk, Health Department, or Town or City Hall.


Franklin County Marriage License Po Box 70 Russellville AL 35653 256-332-8801


Franklin County Clerk PO Box 160 Russellville AL 35653 256-332-8861

Franklin County Health Department 801 County Road 48 Russellville AL 35654 256-332-2700

Hodges City Hall 1942 Alabama 172 Hodges AL 35571 205-935-3445

Littleville Town County Clerk 1810 George Wallace Highway Russellville AL 35654 256-332-4872

Phil Campbell City Hall 580 Railroad Street Phil Campbell AL 35581 205-993-5313

Red Bay City Hall 203 4th Avenue South Red Bay AL 35582 256-356-4473

Vina City Hall 7111 Alabama 19 Vina AL 35593 256-356-4996

Vina Town Hall 7111 Alabama 19 Vina AL 35593 256-356-4996

About Marriage Licenses



Marriage License Application Requirements and Process:

1. Apply where: Probate Judge or County Clerk's Office

2. Minimum age: 18, or 16 with parental or guardian consent

3. Cost/fees: $40-$100; varies by county

4. Identification: driver's license, state-issued identification, passport, certified birth certificate, military identification, certified school record

5. Blood test / Physical Test: No

6. Residency Requirement: No

7. Witnesses: No

8. License Valid: 30 days

9. Waiting Period: No

10. Same-sex marriage: Yes

11. Marriage between cousins: Yes

12. Divorce/Widow: 60 days with divorce certificate/death certificate

13. Proxy Marriage: No

14. Common Law Marriage: No

Questions/Answers about Franklin County Marriage Licenses

What do you have to do to get married?

To get married in Alabama, both members of the couple must visit a county probate judge or County Clerk's Office in person to fill out a marriage license application. You will have to meet certain age requirements, provide photo identification, and pay a fee. Once you have received the marriage license, you must perform a marriage ceremony while the license is still valid. Your officiant will fill out the marriage license and forward it to the county authority. Make sure there are no errors before sending a completed marriage license to the state. The probate court will furnish a certified marriage certificate as proof of marriage.

How do I get a marriage license in Franklin County, Alabama?

You will need to visit the county probate or Clerk's Office to apply for a marriage license. Both members of the couple must be at least 16 years of age, pay $40-$100, depending on the county, and present a valid form of ID.

How much does it cost to get a marriage license in Alabama?

A marriage license can cost anywhere between $40 and $100, depending on the county. Note that you are not required to get married in the county where you apply for your marriage license.

How old do you have to be to get married in Franklin County?

You must reach the minimum age of 16 years of age to get married in Alabama. Individuals who are between 16 and 18 must have parental or guardian consent to get married.