Search for Marshall County, AL marriage license rules and requirements. You can learn how to get a marriage license, a marriage certificate, or marriage records from your local Marriage License Office, Clerk, Health Department, or Town or City Hall.
Marshall County Marriage License 425 Gunter Avenue Guntersville AL 35976 256-571-7764
Alabama Health Department 150 Judy Smith Drive Guntersville AL 35976 256-582-8425
Albertville City Clerk 116 West Main Street Albertville AL 35950 256-891-8200
Albertville City Hall 116 West Main Street Albertville AL 35950 256-891-8200
Arab City Hall 740 North Main Street Arab AL 35016 256-586-3544
Boaz City Hall 112 Broad Street Boaz AL 35957 256-593-8105
Douglas Town Hall 55 ALABAMA Hwy Douglas AL 35964 256-593-9531
Grant City Hall 4766 Main Street Grant AL 35747 256-728-5739
Grant Town Hall 4766 Main Street Grant AL 35747 256-728-2007
Marshall County Clerk 424 Blount Avenue Guntersville AL 35976 256-571-7785
Marshall County Health Department 150 Bluff Road Guntersville AL 35976 256-582-3174
Union Grove Town Hall 3680 Union Grove Road Union Grove AL 35175 256-753-2210
1. Apply where: Probate Judge or County Clerk's Office
2. Minimum age: 18, or 16 with parental or guardian consent
3. Cost/fees: $40-$100; varies by county
4. Identification: driver's license, state-issued identification, passport, certified birth certificate, military identification, certified school record
5. Blood test / Physical Test: No
6. Residency Requirement: No
7. Witnesses: No
8. License Valid: 30 days
9. Waiting Period: No
10. Same-sex marriage: Yes
11. Marriage between cousins: Yes
12. Divorce/Widow: 60 days with divorce certificate/death certificate
13. Proxy Marriage: No
14. Common Law Marriage: No
What do you have to do to get married?
To get married in Alabama, both members of the couple must visit a county probate judge or County Clerk's Office in person to fill out a marriage license application. You will have to meet certain age requirements, provide photo identification, and pay a fee. Once you have received the marriage license, you must perform a marriage ceremony while the license is still valid. Your officiant will fill out the marriage license and forward it to the county authority. Make sure there are no errors before sending a completed marriage license to the state. The probate court will furnish a certified marriage certificate as proof of marriage.
How do I get a marriage license in Marshall County, Alabama?
You will need to visit the county probate or Clerk's Office to apply for a marriage license. Both members of the couple must be at least 16 years of age, pay $40-$100, depending on the county, and present a valid form of ID.
How much does it cost to get a marriage license in Alabama?
A marriage license can cost anywhere between $40 and $100, depending on the county. Note that you are not required to get married in the county where you apply for your marriage license.
How old do you have to be to get married in Marshall County?
You must reach the minimum age of 16 years of age to get married in Alabama. Individuals who are between 16 and 18 must have parental or guardian consent to get married.