Search for DeKalb County, AL marriage license rules and requirements. You can learn how to get a marriage license, a marriage certificate, or marriage records from your local Marriage License Office, Clerk, Health Department, or Town or City Hall.
DeKalb County Marriage License 300 Grand Avenue Southwest Fort Payne AL 35967 256-845-8510
Collinsville City Hall 39 POST OFFICE St Collinsville AL 35961 256-524-2135
Crossville City Hall 14521 Alabama 68 Crossville AL 35962 256-528-7121
De Kalb County Circuit Clerk 300 Grand Avenue South Fort Payne AL 35967 256-845-8525
DeKalb County Health Department 2401 Calvin Dr SW Fort Payne AL 35967 256-845-1931
Fort Payne Clerk 100 Alabama Avenue Northwest Fort Payne AL 35967 256-845-1524
Fyffe Town Hall 514 Campbell Street Fyffe AL 35971 256-623-7298
Geraldine Town Hall 41303 Alabama 75 Geraldine AL 35974 256-659-2122
Henagar City Hall 9252 Alabama 40 Henagar AL 35978 256-657-6282
Mentone City Hall 5972 Alabama 117 Mentone AL 35984 256-634-4444
Sylvania Town Hall 22957 AL Hwy Sylvania AL 35988 256-638-2604
1. Apply where: Probate Judge or County Clerk's Office
2. Minimum age: 18, or 16 with parental or guardian consent
3. Cost/fees: $40-$100; varies by county
4. Identification: driver's license, state-issued identification, passport, certified birth certificate, military identification, certified school record
5. Blood test / Physical Test: No
6. Residency Requirement: No
7. Witnesses: No
8. License Valid: 30 days
9. Waiting Period: No
10. Same-sex marriage: Yes
11. Marriage between cousins: Yes
12. Divorce/Widow: 60 days with divorce certificate/death certificate
13. Proxy Marriage: No
14. Common Law Marriage: No
What do you have to do to get married?
To get married in Alabama, both members of the couple must visit a county probate judge or County Clerk's Office in person to fill out a marriage license application. You will have to meet certain age requirements, provide photo identification, and pay a fee. Once you have received the marriage license, you must perform a marriage ceremony while the license is still valid. Your officiant will fill out the marriage license and forward it to the county authority. Make sure there are no errors before sending a completed marriage license to the state. The probate court will furnish a certified marriage certificate as proof of marriage.
How do I get a marriage license in DeKalb County, Alabama?
You will need to visit the county probate or Clerk's Office to apply for a marriage license. Both members of the couple must be at least 16 years of age, pay $40-$100, depending on the county, and present a valid form of ID.
How much does it cost to get a marriage license in Alabama?
A marriage license can cost anywhere between $40 and $100, depending on the county. Note that you are not required to get married in the county where you apply for your marriage license.
How old do you have to be to get married in DeKalb County?
You must reach the minimum age of 16 years of age to get married in Alabama. Individuals who are between 16 and 18 must have parental or guardian consent to get married.