Search for Shelby County, AL marriage license rules and requirements. You can learn how to get a marriage license, a marriage certificate, or marriage records from your local Marriage License Office, Clerk, Health Department, or Town or City Hall.
Shelby County Marriage License 112 North Main Street Columbiana AL 35051 205-669-3710
Alabaster City Hall 201 1st Street North Alabaster AL 35007 205-664-6800
Calera-City Town Clerk 10947 Alabama 25 Calera AL 35040 205-668-3503
Chelsea City Clerk 11611 Chelsea Road Chelsea AL 35043 205-678-8455
Columbiana City Hall 107 Mildred Street Columbiana AL 35051 205-669-5800
Columbiana Clerk 107 Mildred Street Columbiana AL 35051 205-669-5806
Harpersville City Hall 157 Alabama 25 Harpersville AL 35078 205-672-9877
Indian Springs Town Hall 2635 Cahaba Valley Rd Indian Springs Village AL 35124 205-982-1755
Montevallo City Clerk 277 Park Drive Montevallo AL 35115 205-665-2555
Pelham Clerk 32 Philip Davis Street Pelham AL 35124 205-620-6443
Shelby County Circuit Court 112 North Main Street Columbiana AL 35051 205-669-3760
Shelby County Health Department 2000 County Services Dr Pelham AL 35124 205-664-2470
Wilsonville Town Hall 9905 North Main Street Wilsonville AL 35186 205-669-6180
Wilsonville Town Hall 9905 N MAIN St Wilsonville AL 35186 205-669-6180
1. Apply where: Probate Judge or County Clerk's Office
2. Minimum age: 18, or 16 with parental or guardian consent
3. Cost/fees: $40-$100; varies by county
4. Identification: driver's license, state-issued identification, passport, certified birth certificate, military identification, certified school record
5. Blood test / Physical Test: No
6. Residency Requirement: No
7. Witnesses: No
8. License Valid: 30 days
9. Waiting Period: No
10. Same-sex marriage: Yes
11. Marriage between cousins: Yes
12. Divorce/Widow: 60 days with divorce certificate/death certificate
13. Proxy Marriage: No
14. Common Law Marriage: No
What do you have to do to get married?
To get married in Alabama, both members of the couple must visit a county probate judge or County Clerk's Office in person to fill out a marriage license application. You will have to meet certain age requirements, provide photo identification, and pay a fee. Once you have received the marriage license, you must perform a marriage ceremony while the license is still valid. Your officiant will fill out the marriage license and forward it to the county authority. Make sure there are no errors before sending a completed marriage license to the state. The probate court will furnish a certified marriage certificate as proof of marriage.
How do I get a marriage license in Shelby County, Alabama?
You will need to visit the county probate or Clerk's Office to apply for a marriage license. Both members of the couple must be at least 16 years of age, pay $40-$100, depending on the county, and present a valid form of ID.
How much does it cost to get a marriage license in Alabama?
A marriage license can cost anywhere between $40 and $100, depending on the county. Note that you are not required to get married in the county where you apply for your marriage license.
How old do you have to be to get married in Shelby County?
You must reach the minimum age of 16 years of age to get married in Alabama. Individuals who are between 16 and 18 must have parental or guardian consent to get married.