Search for Ohio marriage license rules and requirements. You can learn how to get a marriage license, a marriage certificate, or marriage records from your local Marriage License Office, Clerk, Health Department, or Town or City Hall.
1. Apply where: County Probate Court Office
2. Minimum Age: 18, or 16 with parental consent and counseling
3. Cost/fees: $40-$60; varies by county
4. Identification: driver's license, state-issued identification, passport, or military identification
5. Blood test / Physical Test: No
6. Residency Requirement: No
7. Witnesses: No
8. License Valid: 60 days
9. Waiting Period: No
10. Same-sex marriage: Yes
11. Marriage between cousins: No
12. Divorce/Widow: Yes, with documention for divorce
13. Proxy Marriage: No
14. Common Law Marriage: No
What do you have to do to get married?
To get married in Ohio, both members of the couple must visit a County Probate Court Office in person to fill out a marriage license application. Residents must apply for a marriage license in the county in which they reside or plan to marry. Non-residents must apply in the county where they plan to marry. You will have to meet certain requirements, provide photo identification, and pay a fee. Once you have received the marriage license, you must perform a marriage ceremony while the license is still valid. Your officiant will complete the marriage license and submit it to the proper government office.
How do I get a marriage license in Ohio?
You will need to visit the County Probate Court Office to apply for a marriage license. You must apply in the county where you reside or plan to marry. Both members of the couple must show proof of age, provide photo identification and pay a fee.
How much does it cost to get a marriage license in Ohio?
A marriage license can cost anywhere between $40 and $60 in Ohio, depending on the county. Some counties require a cash payment to apply for a license.
How old do you have to be to get married in Ohio?
You must reach the minimum age of 16 to get married in Ohio. Minors are required to have parental or guardian consent and attend pre-marital counseling in order to get married.
Can you get married under 18 in Ohio?
Yes. Minors who have reached the age of 16 can get married in Ohio with parental consent. The minor's parents or legal guardian must give written consent and the couple must show proof of pre-marital counseling in order to marry. The minimum age for marriage in Ohio is 16.
Do you need a blood test to get married?
No. There is no legal requirement for a premarital blood test or physical exam in order to get married in Ohio.
Who can legally marry you in Ohio?
The state of Ohio recognizes certain individuals as approved wedding officiants. This includes religious authorities and government officials, such as judges and mayors. Officiants must be registered with the Secretary of the State of Ohio to perform valid marriage ceremonies.
Do you need a witness to get married?
No. The state of Ohio does not require witnesses for a marriage.
How long does it take to get a marriage license in Ohio?
There is no waiting period to get a marriage license. However, you must get married before your marriage license expires. The marriage license is valid for 60 days.
What can you do when your marriage license expires?
If your Ohio marriage license expires, you must apply for a new marriage license and repeat the application procedure. You will also be required to pay the fee again.
What if you or your spouse were previously married? Widowed or divorced?
In Ohio, there is no waiting period after the end of a marriage to apply for a new marriage license. However, previous marriages must be disclosed on the marriage license application, and divorced applicants are required to provide a certified copy of the divorce decree. There is no requirement to provide a death certificate for deceased spouses.
Can you get married by proxy?
No. Marriage by proxy is not permitted in Ohio.
Is same-sex marriage legal in Ohio?
Yes. Same-sex marriage is legal in Ohio.
Can you marry your cousin?
No. You may not marry your cousin in Ohio.
Is Ohio a common law marriage state?
No. Common law marriages are not recognized by the state of Ohio. However, common law marriages that occurred before October 10, 1991 will continue to be recognized as valid.
How do you change your name after getting married?
You will need to present your marriage certificate to several government entities, including the Ohio state or county government, the Ohio Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV) to receive a new license, the Social Security Administration (SSA) to update your Social Security Card, the U.S. Department of State to receive a new passport, the Internal Revenue Service (IRS), and the U.S. Postal Service (USPS). Some government agencies may require a valid marriage certificate. You may also need to provide a marriage certificate to change your name on your insurance, bank accounts, utilities, and with other companies.