Search for Lake County, OH marriage license rules and requirements. You can learn how to get a marriage license, a marriage certificate, or marriage records from your local Marriage License Office, Clerk, Health Department, or Town or City Hall.
Lake County Marriage License 25 North Park Place Painesville OH 44077 440-350-2626
Eastlake City Hall 35150 Lakeshore Boulevard Eastlake OH 44095 440-951-1416
Lake County Clerk 30188 Euclid Avenue Wickliffe OH 44092 440-918-3425
Lake County Clerk of Courts 25 North Park Place Painesville OH 44077 440-350-2657
Lake County Health Department 37111 Euclid Avenue Willoughby OH 44094 440-269-8790
Leroy Township Town Hall 13028 Leroy Center Road Painesville OH 44077 440-254-4236
Madison Township Clerk 2065 Hubbard Road Madison OH 44057 440-428-5128
Mentor City Hall 8500 Civic Center Boulevard Mentor OH 44060 440-255-1100
Mentor County Clerk 8500 Civic Center Boulevard Mentor OH 44060 440-974-5754
North Perry Village Clerk 4449 Lockwood Road Perry OH 44081 440-259-4994
Painesville City Hall 7 Richmond Street Painesville OH 44077 440-352-9301
Wickliffe City Hall 28730 Ridge Road Wickliffe OH 44092 440-943-7100
Willoughby City Hall 1 East Spaulding Street Kirtland OH 44094 440-951-2800
1. Apply where: County Probate Court Office
2. Minimum Age: 18, or 16 with parental consent and counseling
3. Cost/fees: $40-$60; varies by county
4. Identification: driver's license, state-issued identification, passport, or military identification
5. Blood test / Physical Test: No
6. Residency Requirement: No
7. Witnesses: No
8. License Valid: 60 days
9. Waiting Period: No
10. Same-sex marriage: Yes
11. Marriage between cousins: No
12. Divorce/Widow: Yes, with documention for divorce
13. Proxy Marriage: No
14. Common Law Marriage: No
What do you have to do to get married?
To get married in Ohio, both members of the couple must visit a County Probate Court Office in person to fill out a marriage license application. Residents must apply for a marriage license in the county in which they reside or plan to marry. Non-residents must apply in the county where they plan to marry. You will have to meet certain requirements, provide photo identification, and pay a fee. Once you have received the marriage license, you must perform a marriage ceremony while the license is still valid. Your officiant will complete the marriage license and submit it to the proper government office.
How do I get a marriage license in Lake County, Ohio?
You will need to visit the County Probate Court Office to apply for a marriage license. You must apply in the county where you reside or plan to marry. Both members of the couple must show proof of age, provide photo identification and pay a fee.
How much does it cost to get a marriage license in Ohio?
A marriage license can cost anywhere between $40 and $60 in Ohio, depending on the county. Some counties require a cash payment to apply for a license.
How old do you have to be to get married in Lake County?
You must reach the minimum age of 16 to get married in Ohio. Minors are required to have parental or guardian consent and attend pre-marital counseling in order to get married.