Search for Portage County, OH marriage license rules and requirements. You can learn how to get a marriage license, a marriage certificate, or marriage records from your local Marriage License Office, Clerk, Health Department, or Town or City Hall.
Portage County Marriage License 203 West Main Street Ravenna OH 44266 330-297-3870
Aurora City Clerk 130 South Chillicothe Road Aurora OH 44202 330-995-4427
Brimfield Township Town Hall 1333 Tallmadge Road Kent OH 44240 330-678-0739
Charlestown Town Hall 6368 Rock Spring Road Ravenna OH 44266 330-296-7003
City Of Kent Health Department 325 South Depeyster Street Kent OH 44240 330-678-8109
Deerfield Town Hall 1450 Ohio 14 Deerfield OH 44411 330-654-2980
Freedom Town Hall 8966 Ohio 700 Ravenna OH 44266 330-527-4750
Garrettsville Village Clerk 8213 High Street Garrettsville OH 44231 330-527-4424
Mogadore Clerk 135 South Cleveland Avenue Mogadore OH 44260 330-628-6295
Portage County Clerk of Courts 203 West Main Street Ravenna OH 44266 330-297-3644
Portage County Combined General Health District 449 South Meridian Street Ravenna OH 44266 330-296-9919
Ravenna City Health Department 530 North Freedom Street Ravenna OH 44266 330-296-4478
Streetsboro City Hall 2094 Ohio 303 Streetsboro OH 44241 330-626-2856
1. Apply where: County Probate Court Office
2. Minimum Age: 18, or 16 with parental consent and counseling
3. Cost/fees: $40-$60; varies by county
4. Identification: driver's license, state-issued identification, passport, or military identification
5. Blood test / Physical Test: No
6. Residency Requirement: No
7. Witnesses: No
8. License Valid: 60 days
9. Waiting Period: No
10. Same-sex marriage: Yes
11. Marriage between cousins: No
12. Divorce/Widow: Yes, with documention for divorce
13. Proxy Marriage: No
14. Common Law Marriage: No
What do you have to do to get married?
To get married in Ohio, both members of the couple must visit a County Probate Court Office in person to fill out a marriage license application. Residents must apply for a marriage license in the county in which they reside or plan to marry. Non-residents must apply in the county where they plan to marry. You will have to meet certain requirements, provide photo identification, and pay a fee. Once you have received the marriage license, you must perform a marriage ceremony while the license is still valid. Your officiant will complete the marriage license and submit it to the proper government office.
How do I get a marriage license in Portage County, Ohio?
You will need to visit the County Probate Court Office to apply for a marriage license. You must apply in the county where you reside or plan to marry. Both members of the couple must show proof of age, provide photo identification and pay a fee.
How much does it cost to get a marriage license in Ohio?
A marriage license can cost anywhere between $40 and $60 in Ohio, depending on the county. Some counties require a cash payment to apply for a license.
How old do you have to be to get married in Portage County?
You must reach the minimum age of 16 to get married in Ohio. Minors are required to have parental or guardian consent and attend pre-marital counseling in order to get married.