Scioto County Marriage Licenses

Search for Scioto County OH marriage license rules and requirements. You can learn how to get a marriage license, a marriage certificate, or marriage records from your local Marriage License Office, Clerk, Health Department, or Town or City Hall.


Scioto County Marriage License 602 7th Street Portsmouth OH 45662 740-355-8306


Clay Township Clerk 1440 Normandy Road Portsmouth OH 45662 740-353-8511

Porter Township Clerk 1535 Dogwood Ridge Road Wheelersburg OH 45694 740-574-4245

Portsmouth Health Department 740 2nd Street Portsmouth OH 45662 740-353-5153

Scioto County Clerk 602 7th Street Portsmouth OH 45662 740-355-8218

South Webster City Hall 138 North Jackson Street South Webster OH 45682 740-778-3009

Valley Township Clerk 384 Cook Road Lucasville OH 45648 740-259-2251

Washington Township Clerk 2220 Pershing Avenue West Portsmouth OH 45663 740-858-4140

About Marriage Licenses



Marriage License Application Requirements and Process:

1. Apply where: County Probate Court Office

2. Minimum Age: 18, or 16 with parental consent and counseling

3. Cost/fees: $40-$60; varies by county

4. Identification: driver's license, state-issued identification, passport, or military identification

5. Blood test / Physical Test: No

6. Residency Requirement: No

7. Witnesses: No

8. License Valid: 60 days

9. Waiting Period: No

10. Same-sex marriage: Yes

11. Marriage between cousins: No

12. Divorce/Widow: Yes, with documention for divorce

13. Proxy Marriage: No

14. Common Law Marriage: No

Questions/Answers about Scioto County Marriage Licenses

What do you have to do to get married?

To get married in Ohio, both members of the couple must visit a County Probate Court Office in person to fill out a marriage license application. Residents must apply for a marriage license in the county in which they reside or plan to marry. Non-residents must apply in the county where they plan to marry. You will have to meet certain requirements, provide photo identification, and pay a fee. Once you have received the marriage license, you must perform a marriage ceremony while the license is still valid. Your officiant will complete the marriage license and submit it to the proper government office.

How do I get a marriage license in Scioto County, Ohio?

You will need to visit the County Probate Court Office to apply for a marriage license. You must apply in the county where you reside or plan to marry. Both members of the couple must show proof of age, provide photo identification and pay a fee.

How much does it cost to get a marriage license in Ohio?

A marriage license can cost anywhere between $40 and $60 in Ohio, depending on the county. Some counties require a cash payment to apply for a license.

How old do you have to be to get married in Scioto County?

You must reach the minimum age of 16 to get married in Ohio. Minors are required to have parental or guardian consent and attend pre-marital counseling in order to get married.