Search for South Carolina marriage license rules and requirements. You can learn how to get a marriage license, a marriage certificate, or marriage records from your local Marriage License Office, Clerk, Health Department, or Town or City Hall.
1. Apply where: County Probate Judge's Office
2. Minimum Age: 18, or 16 with parental consent
3. Cost/fees: $40-$100; varies by county and residency status
4. Identification: driver's license, state-issued identification, passport, or military identification
5. Blood test / Physical Test: No
6. Residency Requirement: No
7. Witnesses: No
8. License Valid: Does not expire
9. Waiting Period: 24 hours
10. Same-sex marriage: Yes
11. Marriage between cousins: Yes
12. Divorce/Widow: Yes, with disclosure
13. Proxy Marriage: No
14. Common Law Marriage: Yes
What do you have to do to get married?
To get married in South Carolina, both members of the couple must visit a County Probate Judge's Office in person to fill out a marriage license application. You will have to meet certain requirements, provide photo identification, and pay a fee. Once you have submitted the application, there is a 24-hour waiting period before you can pick up the marriage license. Your officiant will complete the marriage license and submit it to the proper government agency to be recorded.
How do I get a marriage license in South Carolina?
You will need to visit the County Probate Judge's Office to apply for a marriage license. Both members of the couple must show proof of age, provide photo identification, and pay a fee. The license is valid anywhere in South Carolina.
How much does it cost to get a marriage license in South Carolina?
A marriage license can cost anywhere between $40 and $100, depending on the county. Some counties charge higher fees for non-residents.
How old do you have to be to get married in South Carolina?
You must reach the minimum age of 16 to get married in South Carolina. Minors must have the consent of a parent or legal guardian in order to marry.
Can you get married under 18 in South Carolina?
Yes. Minors who have reached the age of 16 can marry in South Carolina if they have the consent of a parent or legal guardian. The parent must be present when the minor applies for a license, and the minor must present a certified copy of his or her birth certificate.
Do you need a blood test to get married?
No. There is no legal requirement for a premarital blood test or physical exam in order to get married in South Carolina.
Who can legally marry you in South Carolina?
The state of South Carolina recognizes certain individuals as approved wedding officiants. This includes religious authorities as well as some government officials, such as justices of the peace. Ministers, priests, and other clergy, including recognized Native American spiritual leaders, do not need to receive any special license to perform weddings in South Carolina.
Do you need a witness to get married?
No. The state of South Carolina does not require witnesses for a marriage.
How long does it take to get a marriage license in South Carolina?
South Carolina marriage licenses are valid 24 hours after the application is filed and the fee is paid. The marriage license does not expire.
What can you do when your marriage license expires?
Marriage licenses do not expire in South Carolina.
What if you or your spouse were previously married? Widowed or divorced?
In South Carolina, there is no waiting period after the end of a marriage to apply for a new marriage license. However, previous marriages must be disclosed on the marriage license application. South Carolina does not require proof of divorce or the death of a spouse prior to applying for a new license.
Can you get married by proxy?
No. Marriage by proxy is not permitted in South Carolina.
Is same-sex marriage legal in South Carolina?
Yes. Same-sex marriage is legal in South Carolina.
Can you marry your cousin?
Yes. You can marry your cousin in South Carolina.
Is South Carolina a common law marriage state?
Yes. Common law marriages are recognized by the state of South Carolina.
How do you change your name after getting married?
You will need to present your marriage certificate to several government entities, including the South Carolina state or county government, the South Carolina Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV) to receive a new license, the Social Security Administration (SSA) to update your Social Security Card, the U.S. Department of State to receive a new passport, the Internal Revenue Service (IRS), and the U.S. Postal Service (USPS). Some government agencies may require a valid marriage certificate. You may also need to provide a marriage certificate to change your name on your insurance, bank accounts, utilities, and with other companies.